[Review] IOPE Air Cushion Sunblock EX (No. 21 Ice Vanilla)

IOPE Air Cushion Sunblock EX SPF50+/PA+++

SONY DSC

SONY DSC
When I first came to Korea and saw this brand, I pronounced it I-OPE (like ‘ope’ in hope or rope). Then one day during a conversation with the boyfriend, I realized it was actually pronounced I-O-PEH. If you’re new to IOPE, it’s actually a higher end brand compared to Tony Moly, Innisfree, Etude House, Holika Holika, and Skinfood. IOPE is one of the many brands under the giant Amore Pacific and seems to be getting a lot of attention these days compared to before. I’ve been using some of their products for a while so I naturally had really high expectations for their Air Cushion Sunblock since they were selling like hotcakes on TV and all over the internet.

Description: All in one product cushion sunscreen with four new concepts:  Brightening + UV Protection + Cooling + Makeup

1- Forming a flexible and protective layer on the skin with a sweatproof complex
2 – Intense moisturizing & soothing effect with hydromineral water
3 – Natural finish touch by Cushion Powder and oil degradation enzymes powder (LCCP)

IOPE Air Cushion Sunblock EX comes in 4 different shades:

No. 20 Ice Peach: Skin coloring expression in likeness of cold winter peach’s clear white skin with a tint of flush (Combined use as a makeup base)
No. 21 Ice Vanilla: Bright and splendid skin expression (Combined use as foundation)
No. 23 Ice Beige: Natural and splendid skin expression (Combined use as foundation)
No. 22 Ice Shimmer Beige: Bright and glamorous look (Combined use as foundation)

Mine is 21 in Ice Vanilla.
It also comes with an extra sponge and refill.
My sponge got quite a bit of product on there so I tossed it. I just use my foundation brush to apply the sunblock.
It comes in a rather bulky size compact. Some people may have qualms with the size as it’s thicker than your standard size compact. For me it’s not a bad size to carry around although I don’t really reapply BB cream or sunblock so I wouldn’t bring this around at all.
SONY DSC
See the word “PUSH”? Give it a slight press with your thumb while holding the rest of the compact and the container will detach itself. You can replace it with your refill when you run out.

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC
I’ve used my finger here to show how you can pick up the product. The instructions say you can either apply this with your hand or the sponge the cushion sunblock comes with. Make sure to wash your hands if you decide to use it instead of the sponge or a brush!
SONY DSC
The consistency is a bit less dense than most BB creams. It’s easy to blend and you can use either the sponge it comes with or a foundation brush. I prefer my brush to the sponge.

Usage instructions: Apply after skin and lotion as a makeup base, or at the foundation stage, or whenever sunscreen is required during the after afternoon apply as necessary. (You can use it before or after makeup)

SONY DSC
This is what it looks like once I’ve blended the product. It definitely cools and brightens my skin.


I usually have to apply a powder once I apply IOPE Air Cushion Sunblock because I always feel like I’m too shiny. I don’t mind the dewy look but it just looks like a whole lot of shine on me. As a long time IOPE user, I was really hoping to like this Air Cushion Sunblock. It got rave reviews from the majority of its users and I was really hoping to like it since its an all-in-one type of product. I still think IOPE is a great brand however I’m not a fan of the Air Cushion Sunblock.

Here’s the good:
– 4-in-1: it offers brightening essence, UV protection, makeup and a cooling effect
– comes with a refill
– SPF 50+/PA+++

And the bad:
– bad oil control on me
– sheer coverage
– available in a few shades, may not be ideal for tanned individuals or individuals with darker skin

If you’re seeking more coverage, I’ve read that IOPE Air Cushion Sunblock EX-Cover offers more coverage.

Leave a Reply