War Memorial Museum & Good Eats

The boyfriend decided earlier in the week that he wanted to visit the War Memorial Museum in Seoul and asked if I wanted to come. Having been there once in 2009 with a group of NETS, I had already seen most of the museum but wanted to come anyway.

I think we sometimes forget to remember the past as there are way too many distractions around us. The boyfriend and I had a chat about this while we toured the museum. He told me the younger generation doesn’t seem to grasp the importance of remembering Korea’s sad history.  As we looked around, it dawned on me how we sometimes take our freedom for granted. While I don’t believe we should always be grieving in guilt because we live better these days, I just think we should sometimes take a moment to remember the past and be thankful for what we have.

SONY DSC

Located in Yongsan-gu, Seoul, The War Memorial Museum is open to the public except on Mondays. Their exhibition hours are 9am-6pm and admission is free.

SONY DSC

Monument of KIA.

SONY DSC

I’ve seen this statue online and in person before but I never feel immune to the incredible sadness that it conveys. I always find myself responding to it emotionally. It’s a statue that depicts the true story of two brothers who fought on opposite sides during the Korean War. The two embraced after they met on the battlefield. It’s heart-wrenching and it gets me every time.

DSCF5027

DSCF4991

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

The boyfriend and I both participated by writing our personal messages.

DSCF4983

Hanging up our messages.

DSCF4967

SONY DSC

DSCF4978

DSCF4974

There were tons of replicas, records, and artifacts in each of the exhibition rooms.

DSCF4976

Coming from a rather young country, I felt quite a bit sadness seeing the images and reading about the numerous casualties S. Korea had suffered due to the many wars throughout its history. Our time at the museum was definitely thought provoking.

 

DSCF4993

DSCF4995

This can be seen in The Memorial Hall on the 2nd floor of the museum. “The light represents Korea shining light onto a bowl which symbolizes their creation and everlasting nation”.

DSCF4996

SONY DSC

Armored vehicles along with large air crafts are displayed in the Outdoor Exhibition Area.

SONY DSC

This is an actual size replica of the South Korean naval patrol vessel engaged in a sea battle with North Korea in 2002. Six lives were lost while safeguarding the Northern Limit Line.

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

I read somewhere that there are around 259 bullet holes on this ship.

I highly recommend the War Memorial Museum to those who are in Korea or coming to Korea. There are 6 indoor exhibition rooms and and outdoor one. The boyfriend and I both left feeling pretty emotionally exhausted but it was an overall good experience for the both of us.

DSCF5006

Being goofy to lighten the mood. I joked that I wanted to add that to my wardrobe.

After we left the War Memorial Museum, we decided to watch Brad Pitt’s new movie, World War Z. After being further exhausted, we decided have dinner out and ended up at a pretty decent restaurant.

Goguryeo (Suwon)
SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

It was quite pricey but we both enjoyed it!

Hope I didn’t torture you too much with the food pictures! Have a great day.

Leave a Reply

