[Review] Benton Mineral Sun Stick SPF50+ PA++++

For some, sunscreens only go with summers. For me, it’s an every day affair so if you see a sunscreen review in the summer on my blog, don’t think it’s a seasonal special, I write about them all the time. I’m sharing another sun stick review today because they’re hot commodities these days but it’s not easy coming across one that works well for oily skin.

 

The mineral UV protection filter gently covers delicate skin with light & soft texture without leaving white cast, and provides moisture and nourishes in skin with various botanical ingredients.

 

The Benton Mineral Sun Stick is a vegan formulated sun stick. It claims to have been dermatogically and pediatrically tested which mean its a family-friendly product that can be used on all skin types.

 

Disclaimer: This post contains an affiliate code that will help earn this site a small commission at no extra cost to you if you choose to make a purchase through it.

 

 

The Mineral Sun Stick is tinier than the tiniest sun stick I’ve used. It comes with 15g of product and has one of those dials which raises the product. Packaging wise, there are no qualms here. I love the color, and the content doesn’t come flying out like a certain other sun stick (which you can read about here).

 

Coco-Caprylate/Caprate, Sunflower Seed Wax, Propylene Glycol Dicaprylate, H-DI/Trimethylol Hexyllactone Crosspolymer, C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate, Titanium Dioxide, Dicaprylyl Carbonate, Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, Vinyl Dimethicone, Microcrystalline Wax, Aluminum Stearate, Polyhydroxystearic Acid, Purslane Extract, Centella Extract, Sodium Hyaluronate, Hydrolyzed Hyaluronic Acid, Sodium Acetylated Hyaluronate, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Polyglyceryl-4Diisostearate/Polyhydroxystearate/Sebacate, Silica, Alumina, Pentylene glycol, Allantoin, Panthenol, Glycerin, Madecassic Acid, Asiaticoside, Asiatic Acid, Xylyl Glucoside, Anhydroxylitol, Xylitol, Glucose, Glyceryl Caprylate, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Stearic Acid, Tocopherol, Purified Water, 1, 2-hexanediol, Ethylhexylglycerin

 

This sun stick is fitted with SPF50+ PA++++ and utilizes one mineral UV filter, which is Titanium Dioxide as seen above in the full ingredient list. It also comes infused with 3 different kinds of HA to secure skin’s hydration as well as soothing properties supported by derivatives of Centella Asiatica.

 

 

As a mineral sunscreen lover, I have to say, I automatically had good feelings towards this before I even got to try it. I’m partial to mineral sunscreens because I find them a lot kinder to my skin and eyes. Although it’s something I’ve purchased before, I never got to use it because I actually got it for the hubby. I don’t know what happened to the fate of that Mineral Sun Stick but its whereabouts were never recovered. I received this sun stick as a part of a tremendously generous giveaway prize hosted by the lovely Director Pi earlier this year.

 

 

I’ll waste no time here. The Mineral Sun Stick has a few drawbacks but none of them are fatal. The glide is probably the worst offender here. It’s not as silky or smooth as it claims to be. There was some serious tugging when I first tried this but I always see sun sticks as something that requires some breaking in like a new pair of shoes. This one does not possess that dreamy glide that some other sun sticks do and you can definitely see that in a Youtube short I will have linked at the end of the post. I have to admit, the glide improves once you’re a dozen swipes in but I would still have to rate this at the bottom in terms of glide amongst all the sun sticks I’ve used. While this is tiny and perfect for on-the-go reapplication, I do find the shape of the sun stick to pose a challenge when it comes to reaching certain nooks and crannies but this is something I’ve experienced with other sun sticks as well.

If you like your sun sticks to come with cooling properties or say a dose of hydration, it’s unlikely you’ll find it here. I’m sure this won’t be a deal breaker for many but still thought it’s worth mentioning. Honestly, I’ve been spoiled by cooling sun sticks so I was a tad disappointed this didn’t come with that. This sun stick does not feel particularly hydrating nor does it have any cooling components. I reckon those with dry skin or those who suffer from dehydration will have to pack on the hydration and moisturization beforehand as this doesn’t offer any.

The white cast free claim was something I was skeptical from the get go because it’s only normal that mineral sunscreens come with them. The intensity varies from formulation to formulation and some brands have gotten away with them being reduced to very light tone-up effects so I figured that was probably the case with this. This applies with an initial white cast that’ll appear differently depending on skin tone. It looks like nothing more than a tone-up effect on my skin and it does disappear entirely at some point during the day but that does require time.

I see this being fit for oily skin types as it applies matte. There’s no waiting period for the mattification to take place, it just goes on matte the instant you glide it over skin. The sun stick feels lightweight, breathable and leaves this powdery, matte finish that oily skin pines after. I have to say that of all the sun sticks I’ve tried to date, this one serves my oily skin best. I love that multiple swipes over the same area doesn’t cause any feelings of heaviness or congestion on skin.

 

 

If you’re someone who wears makeup, I see this being a compatible product to wear under makeup. I can’t imagine the horror this would cause used over makeup so I haven’t gone there. The hypoallergenic formulation has been absolutely gentle to both my skin and eyes and I have never experienced any sort of discomfort.

As you can see, the drawbacks, if we can even call them so aren’t so bad. Overall, I think the Mineral Sun Stick is something I’d love to have around during the summer for its ability to control sebum. The matte finish is great as it helps keep my skin from appearing too shiny. If you have oily skin, this is something I would highly recommend checking out. However, if you’re someone with a darker skin tone and are concerned about the white cast not entirely vanishing, then I would suggest skipping as I find the comments so mixed in terms of how visible the white cast looks on skin.

If you’d like to see how this looks in action, I have a Youtube short up which you can view here.

The good:

  • perfect for oily skin
  • powdery, matte finish
  • no scent
  • compact and travel-friendly
  • vegan
  • hypoallergenic, safe for sensitive skin

The bad:

  • glide not as smooth as other sun sticks
  • shape

This was featured in Director Pi’s 2021 Sun Stick & Sun Cushion Top of Top video where it received nothing but praises for its formulation and application. I’ve linked it just in case anyone is curious.

The Benton Mineral Sun Stick is available for purchase at YESSTYLE, feel free to use JUNOMOMMA3 for a small discount off your purchase.

 

Leave a Reply