[Review] Innisfree Anti-aging Serum Sunscreen SPF50+ PA++++

Still having trouble finding a sunscreen for your oily skin? Let me share one that surprisingly worked well for me.

One of my worst experiences with chemical sunscreens happened under Innisfree therefore I wasn’t sure what to expect but I’m extremely happy to share, this exceeded expectations. Granted they were low to begin with, I still had a very pleasant experience with The Anti-aging Serum Sunscreen. I liked this so much that I went on to purchase two tubes for a friend who I thought would enjoy it as well.

 

A multi-function sunscreen with anti-aging benefits to provide protection from UV rays and environmental stressors.

Things to expect:
  • 40ml
  • chemical UV filters
  • lightweight texture
  • no greasiness/tackiness
  • coral reef friendly
  • free of animal ingredients, mineral oil, Polyacrylamine, Imidazolidinyl urea, Triethanolamine, synthethic colors
  • recommended to oily skin, especially those looking for skip-care products

 

Ingredients: Water, Dibutyl Adipate, Propanediol, Alcohol, Ethylhexyl Triazone, Terephthalyidene Dicamphor Sulfonic Acid, Glycerin, Niacinamide, Tromethamine, Polyglyceryl-3 Distearate, 1,2-Hexanediol, Pentylene Glycol, Cetearyl Alcohol, Diethlamino Hydroxybenzoyl Hexyl Benzoate, Caprylyl Methicone, Polysilicone-15, Polymethylsilsesquioxane, Glyceryl Stearate, Bis-Ethylhexyloxyphenol Methoxyphenyl Triazine, Potassium Cetyl Phosphate, Methylpropanediol, Carbomer, Acrylates/C10-30 Alkyl Acrylate Crosspolymer, Fragrance, Glyceryl Stearate Citrate, Ethylhexylglycerin, Ammonium Acryloyldimethyltaurate/VP Copolymer, Adenosine, Polyether-1, Butylene Glycol, Biosaccharide Gum-1, Rosmarinus Officinalis (Rosemary) Leaf Extract, Tocopherol, Camellia Japonica Flower Extract

 

UV Filters: Uvinul T 150, Ecamsule, Uvinul A Plus, Polysilicone-15, Tinosorb S

This contains both alcohol and fragrance. Once dispensed, there is a strong, extremely off-putting smell of alcohol with lingering notes of something sweet. The Hyggee Vegan Sun Cream possesses a pretty strong scent of Alcohol the moment it comes out of the tube but it seriously has nothing on this which is two folds more intense. This thing reeks of alcohol and while I am not that intolerable of the ingredient, it’s quite bothersome when it’s that intense. If you can’t tolerate alcohol as an ingredient, I suggest skipping this one. The only good thing I can’t think of is perhaps the inclusion of it does help this settle very quickly on skin.

The sunscreen is on the pricier side since it only comes with 40ml but costs 22,000KRW. I was able to get it for a little over 6,000KRW but from what I know it’s even more expensive in some parts of the world. For packaging, the sunscreen is housed in a plastic tube and dispenses via a pump. The pump was initially very convenient until I used about half of the product. I’m not sure if I’ll be able to dispense everything without an intervention later once I approach the last bits.

 

 

I think those who enjoy watery, lightweight textures that spread with complete ease and rapidly absorb into skin will enjoy this one. The Anti-aging Serum Sunscreen has a very watery serum-lotion like texture that melts upon contact with skin and fully absorbs without leaving behind a white cast. It feels a slight bit soothing and cooling as well which I find extremely nice during the warmer seasons. There’s no greasiness or tackiness felt on the surface of skin. The sunscreen leaves behind an initial dewy finish but I find that to transform into a more skin like finish.

Here’s the real kicker though, this doesn’t cause my skin to grease up much throughout the day. As this feels quite moisturizing (albeit not heavy) upon application, I was sure this would cause sebum to erupt from my pores but it’s actually the opposite. I got this on a whim so I did not know it was intended for oily skin until I looked up its claims for my Chemical and Hybrid Skip-care Sunscreen Picks for Oily Skin post. Now while this doesn’t cause my skin to become oilier, it’s in no way drying at all. It strikes the perfect oil-water balance for me.

Being a chemical sunscreen, this guy leaves behind no white cast. I experienced no discomfort to my eyes but I did read experiences of some who felt some stinging so this will vary from people to people depending on your own sensitivities.

 

 

As you can see, I’m nearly done with this tube. I think it’s worth getting again once the summer comes especially on days I want to to wear a white-cast free sunscreen. I’m not a fan of moisturizing so I like that I can use these skip-care sunscreens to complete 2 steps with one product. If you have oily skin, I recommend checking this out. However do keep in mind it does include alcohol and it occurs very high on the list.

The good:

  • lightweight
  • blends in effortlessly
  • no white cast
  • moisturizing, soothing and cooling
  • does not feel sticky/greasy
  • does not cause excess sebum production on skin
  • can be used as skipcare sunscreen

The bad:

  • inclusion of alcohol and fragrance

Leave a Reply