Fall Skincare Routine 2022

I love everything about the fall. The skies, autumn foliage, weather, the more reasons to consume those extra cups of hot coffee and tea but my skin never seems to welcome it the same way. In fact, it took a major hit a few weeks back which led to a complete overhaul of my routine. No longer shuffling around lightweight, watery products, I figured why not give you all a glimpse of the products my skin’s been enjoying.

Please do keep in mind, I have oily skin. I am a grease ball through and through but I do have issues with dehydration so I love packing on the moisture whilst keeping my routine as short and sweet as possible. My routine is actually very bland compared to most of my friends and nothing out of the ordinary. I got away without moisturizer for most of the summer thanks to a load of skip-care sunscreens that were super moisturizing but the weather no longer permits me to enjoy that convenience so it’s back to moisturizing.

This is what my morning routine looks like:

cleanser -> toner (pads)/essence -> ampoule/serum -> eye cream -> moisturizer -> sunscreen

My night routine is not elaborate at all, in fact it’s much like my morning routine with just an additional cleansing step:

cleansing oil -> cleanser ->  toner (pads)/essence -> ampoule/serum -> eye cream->  moisturizer

Currently, I’m not as obsessed with my pores and mostly stick to products that I know will deposit moisture to fend off dehydration. I also like to use products that help improve dullness since I had a bit of that going on a while back. Overall, I’m incredibly satisfied with the way my skin looks and feels. I’ll share the products in the order that they’re used so feel free to skip around if you’re here for something specific.

Cleansing

Cleansing is without a doubt my favorite step. I enjoy cleansing and the evening cleanse is the one that I look forward to most. I cleanse twice a day and as excessive as that may sound, my skin produces sebum throughout the night so I need a good cleanse in the morning. I prefer unscented low pH cleansers and the one I’m currently using is the Round Lab 1025 Dokdo Cleansing Gel. It’s a mild cleanser that’s suitable for daily use and something I can definitely recommend. I recently cracked open the I’M FROM Mugwort Gel Cleanser (not pictured but review is pending!) and so far I have to say it’s quite nice as well. I’m addicted to the scent which smells exactly like the Mugwort Cream, it’s so therapeutic!

 

 

My go-to first cleanser will always be a cleansing oil. I’m currently alternating between the Haruharu Wonder Black Rice Moisture Deep Cleansing Oil and Skin1004 Madagascar Centella Cleansing Oil. The former is unscented and has a bit of weight to it which I actually prefer when it comes to cleansing oils because it just feels like it latches onto the debris better but this one tends to sting when it gets in my eyes. If you like lightweight, watery types, the Madagascar Centella Cleansing Oil is quite nice but it does carry a fragrance.

I reach for the Hyggee Soft Reset Green Cleansing Balm every now and then when I feel like getting rid of blackheads or removing stubborn makeup without the aid of my lip and eye makeup remover. It’s one of the best cleansers in my opinion and is something I will continue to repurchase.

 

Toner/Essence

I usually race to hydrate my skin if it doesn’t require exfoliation but if I’m experiencing a bit of texture or dry flakes then I’ll reach for the Aprilskin Carrotene Clarifying Vita Pads. These are nicely drenched and incredibly mild. I haven’t had any breakouts or experienced any sort of discomfort since using them. They are scented but work effectively so no qualms there.

 

 

To appease dehydration, I use the Dr. Ceuracle Vegan Kombucha Tea Essence. This beautiful product is one of the few products that can tackle my current problems with dehydration. The bad thing is, it’s so expensive it’s almost criminal. My beautiful friend, Supsy, gifted me this gorgeous essence so I have her to thank for crossing this one off the wishlist. If you find the Laneige Cream Skin Refiner too rich for your liking, I would recommend this.

 

 

 

Ampoule/Serum

If you’re new to skincare, you really only need to make sure you cleanse, moisturize and apply sunscreen. Once you get the hang of that, you can then make it more elaborate by adding things like ampoules and serums to treat more specific concerns. For the ampoule/serum category, I have a few products to share.

 

 

I know, it looks weird because this is a product intended for dry skin but I use the Missha Bee Pollen Renew Ampouler and I have to say I’m somewhat in love with it. Normally, I wouldn’t touch something like this with a 10-foot pole but I owe my nice glazed donut skin to this product. This ampoule is to be credited for taking out some major skin irritation and replacing it with a lit from within glow that I’m just loving these days.

 

 

The Royal Vita Propolis 33 Ampoule is another product my skin enjoys. It may look tiny but this thing delivers some mighty results. I just found out this product is also available in 30ml so you can get more of this if you fancy. I’ve got the mini version which only houses 15ml. Talk about improving dull skin though, this imparts the most beautiful glow to skin. It’s a concoction of vitamins and propolis to give skin radiance and boy does it work. The biggest difference between this and the Bee Pollen Renew Ampouler would be the latter feels more nourishing on my skin.

A new one I recently incorporated is the Cera-barrier Soothing Ampoule (full review in the works). I was experiencing some soreness a while back on my upper cheeks so I took it as a sign that my barrier needed reinforcement, hence this came forth. For starters, the texture is out of this world. It’s milky but not viscous and just settles instantly. There’s no greasy/sticky business to be fussed with and I also like that it dispenses without issues. I definitely think we’ll see this one explode in popularity soon. I usually like to use this in the same routine as the Royal Vita Propolis 33 Ampoule.

 

Eye Cream

During the warmer seasons, I never felt like an eye cream was needed in my day routine but as skin is thinner there and more prone to dryness and loss of elasticity there, I’ve noticed that my under eye area requires a bit more moisturization than normal these days. I’ve tried a ton of AHC eye creams but the older seasons seem more effective at depositing moisturization and plumping than the later releases. So even though I have the latest vegan formulation along with one of the later seasons, I went and got one of their older releases just because it works better in my opinion. The only downside is the fragrance.

 

Moisturizers

Moisturizers are the least fun for me. I skip over them whenever I can so I actually went through most of the summer without moisturizing (thank you skip-care sunscreens!). Unfortunately it’s too dry for me to even attempt that so they’re back in my routine at the moment.

One thing I’ve noticed is I don’t really need a heavy-duty moisturizer because the Dr. Ceuracle Vegan Kombucha Tea Essence and Missha Bee Pollen Renew Ampouler are both incredibly wonderful at giving skin moisturization. As long as I have something that helps seal the deal, my skin is good. I often switch out my moisturizers depending on my mood and the two below just happened to be the ones I had at literal arm’s length to photograph but I’m also trying to finish the By Wishtrend Vitamin A-mazing Bakuchiol Night Cream, as well as testing the ongredients Slow-Aging Cream.

 

 

Sunscreen

I have a lot of sunscreens and it would be too difficult to show you all the sunscreens I have in rotation so I’m only going to show two today. One is a hybrid formulation and probably going to last me just a few more application whereas the Rice Sunscreen is a new addition and something I’ve been testing out lately (another review in the works!). I don’t have a full review on the Purito SPF but did do a brief one in the summer that you can read here.

For reapplications, I’m still using the Dewytree Urban Shade Cool Calming Sun Stick.

 

And that’s pretty much a wrap! Are any of the products here in your routine and what are some of your favorites this time of year?

If there are any questions about my routine or any of the products above, just leave me a comment and I’ll try to have your questions answered as quickly as possible. As always, thanks for reading and have an amazing day!

4 Comments Add yours

  1. I wish I could use AHC but all of their products are sooo strongly fragranced, it’s like rubbing perfume on my skin! Sad, because I see a lot of people loving their products.

    Like

    1. hoppershake says:

      I know 😦 I’ve gotten used to it but I wish they would remove fragrance from their products.

      Like

  2. Nic says:

    Hello! Would you recommend the Purito Daily Go-To Sunscreen for someone who has sensitive skin?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. hoppershake says:

      Definitely! I find this hybrid formula incredibly gentle and great for daily use ❤️ but I do recommend looking over the ingredient list before you decide on buying!

      Like

Leave a Reply