[Review] Skin1004 Madagascar Centella Ampoule, Air-Fit Suncream Light, Quick Calming Pad & Hyalu-Cica Water-Fit Sun Serum

A lot of skincare brands vouch to go above and beyond to protect your skin but few have gone as far as to incorporate it into their actual brand name. If you’re a skincare enthusiast, chances are, you’ve come across if not already tried this brand. However, if you’re new to the whole skincare scene, let me introduce you to the guardian angel of (y)our skin, also known as Skin1004. I did not make that up as 1004 is read as ‘cheonsa’ in Korean which is also a homonym for angel.

Skin1004 is a vegan, cruelty-free brand that enjoys immense popularity both at home and abroad with 6 product lines, each offering to tackle and soothe your skin woes including: Centella, Hyalu-Cica, Tea-Trica, Tone Brightening, Poremizing and its fun skincare with a twist collection, Zombie Beauty.

 

Disclaimer: This is a paid partnership with Skin1004. My opinions of the products are however my own, honest and not in any way influenced by the brand in association.

 

 

Before we jump into the reviews, it only seems fitting to mention Skin1004 stresses importance on choosing natural ingredients that are clean and pure to help strengthen skin thus they selected Centella Asiatica sourced from Madagascar. Reason being, this island which happens to be the Earth’s oldest, possesses a climate that provides the most optimal environment for growing the plant.

All of the products featured in today’s post contain Centella Asiatica and the reviews will occur in the following order so feel free to skip around:

  • Madagascar Centella Ampoule
  • Madagascar Centella Quick Calming Pads
  • Madagascar Centella Air-Fit Suncream Light 
  • Madagascar Centella Hyalu-Cica Water-Fit Sun Serum

 

》 Madagascar Centella Ampoule

A soothing ampoule that helps calm and restore imbalance in the skin caused by harsh environments.

I was someone who never really understood the hype behind Centella Asiatica but I’m also someone who never tried the ingredient on its own. I felt like I wasn’t the target demographic for this ampoule since my skin hasn’t required a whole lot of calming or soothing as of late. However I felt I couldn’t do a brand review without including one of the brand’s most iconic products so it was the first one I chose to try. With the knowledge that this also works well as a hydrating ampoule, I decided to use it for that purpose and see where things would take me from there.

Ingredients: Centella Asiatica (Gota Kula) Extract

Things to expect from the Madagascar Centella Ampoule:

  • available in 30ml, 55ml and 100ml
  • non-comedogenic
  • contains only 1 ingredient
  • calming and hydrating
  • unscented

The ampoule in this review comes with 100ml of product which is quite monstrous but of course in a good way because you’re definitely getting more bang for that buck. Even if you like drowning your skin with ampoule, this will likely last an incredibly long time. I’ve been using this on a daily basis, a whole dropper or two in both the AM and PM but my bottle still looks pretty new.

order of application:

(morning) cleanser -> (toner) -> Madagascar Centella Ampoule -> moisturizer -> sunscreen

(night) cleansing oil -> cleanser -> Madagascar Centella Ampoule -> moisturizer

I discovered that while this can be applied at the ampoule/serum stage, you can actually boost skin’s moisture levels by using it as a first essence immediately after cleansing. As a fan of toning, I usually like to have one incorporated in my routine, however if you find toners unnecessary, I suggest using a couple layers of this after cleansing.

In the early stages of using this product, I easily got away with applying a single layer however the air has become increasingly dry in my neck of the woods so I’ve been applying 2 layers to help combat feelings of dehydration. Texture wise, the ampoule is thicker than water but still very runny. If you have slow reflexes, I urge dispensing and massaging the product into your skin in sections. I have to commend the elegance of the texture though because it has a nice, very glorious slip that facilitates a quick and fuss-free application. The unscented ampoule is easy to spread, feels lightweight on skin and absorbs without imparting any kind of tackiness on its own.

 

 

My skin has been cruising along free of irritation for the most part so I thought I would miss the chance to find out if this had any real effectiveness on soothing skin before sharing my review. The timing couldn’t have been better because right as I was going to wrap the review, a sudden irritation occurred after Retinol containing products were incorporated into my routine. Windy weather conditions and dry air have really been sucking the joy out of my skin and perhaps I hadn’t moisturized sufficiently. The irritation was brief but incredibly intense. To fight off the awful sting, I gave myself a generous dollop on each cheek and massaged the ampoule up near my under eye area which was the area of irritation and like that, my problem had been soothed away.

So in short, it does work. It works to hydrate but also performs well to bring relief to irritated skin. I’ve had this for over a month and so far I’ve really enjoyed having it in my routine. It’s easy to use and plays well with other products so I have no qualms at all. The unscented ampoule has an elegant texture and I feel I can depend on this when my skin needs a quick fix of skin soothing. It’ll be interesting to see what this does long-term.

》 Madagascar Centella Quick Calming Pad

A pre-soaked toner pad to soothe, hydrate, and condition skin in one simple step.

Back then, directly packing toners on was my ultimate favorite way to enjoy them but I haven’t been able to turn back after being spoiled by skin packs and toner pads. Reason being the charge of hydration feels more intense and long-lasting, not to mention, it also feels quite soothing and relaxing to skin.

 

Ingredients: Centella Asiatica (Gotu Kola) Extract (49%), Water, 1,2-Hexanediol, Butylene Glycol, Panthenol, Xanthan Gum, Sodium Hyaluronate, Ethylhexylglycerin, Disodium EDTA, Citric Acid

 

Things to expect from the Madagascar Centella Quick Calming Pad:

  • 70 pads, 130ml
  • daily instant calming and hydrating
  • target care
  • unscented
  • 10 ingredients

The Quick Calming Pad comes with a pair of mini plastic tweezers stored in a plastic lid above the product. The pads are 7cm in diameter and shaped to fit comfortably under the eyes and around the nose, covering most of the cheeks. The material is amazingly soft and while they’re incredibly thin, the pads are insanely saturated. But what I appreciate is despite being incredibly soaked, these pads hold their essence well. This deserves a mention as I’ve experienced a number of pads that were nicely saturated but had an issue where the essence would continuously leak from the pads and drip down my face.

order of application:

(morning) cleanser -> Madagascar Centella Quick Calming Pad -> ampoule/serum -> moisturizer -> sunscreen

(night) cleansing oil -> cleanser->  Madagascar Centella Quick Calming Pad -> ampoule/serum -> moisturizer

I like to start my morning with these but I also enjoy winding down with them at night, thus burning through them a whole lot faster than I’d like. I use 3 pieces for each session and apply them to my forehead and cheeks. Out of all the toner pads I’ve tried, the Quick Calming Pad takes the trophy for being the thinnest and best adhering. The concoction of hydrating and soothing ingredients work in harmony to give my skin a mini session of pampering that I enjoy so much. While the instructions state to leave them on for 3-5 minutes, I occasionally leave them on a slight bit longer but never exceeding 10 minutes.

 

The Quick Calming Pad is one of my favorite products from the Centella line and currently my favorite toner pads. I’m a big fan of toner pads that provide straight hydration as opposed to the ones that are meant for light exfoliation and these are just perfect. The pads are extremely thin so picking them up is a bit challenging but the moment they are on, skin is instantly relaxed and charged with moisture.

Another thing I should mention is if you’re someone who travels often, these are so nice for trips out of town. I no longer opt to take my toners with me when I know I’ll be away from home, instead I pack a tub of toner pads because they are just so easy to travel with. These are the best as they are both soothing and hydrating.

 

The ampoule and toner pads are great products to incorporate into any AM and PM routines and I find them to work wonderfully as a part of the same routine.

》 Hyalu-Cica Water-Fit Sun Serum SPF50+ PA++++

A non-nano chemical sunscreen that blocks UV rays, while simultaneously hydrating the skin. Leaves skin with a moisturized, dewy finish.

Meet the one that’s been making waves on social media. It’s the current “it” sunscreen and there’s a reason why it’s stealing the sunscreen limelight.

 

Ingredients: Water, Dibutyl Adipate, Propanediol, Diethylamino Hydroxybenzoyl Hexyl Benzoate, Polymethylsilsesquioxane, Ethylhexyl Triazone, Methylene Bis-Benzotriazolyl Tetramethylbutylphenol, Niacinamide, Coco-Caprylate/Caprate, Caprylyl Methicone, Diethylhexyl Butamido Triazone, Glycerine, 1,2-Hexanediol, Butylene Glycol, Centella Asiatica Extract (9800PPM), Betula Alba Bark/Leaf Extract, Ginkgo Biloba Leaf Extract, Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract, Triticum Vulgare Sprout Extract, Medicago Sativa Leaf Extract, Brassica Oleracea Italica Sprout Extract, Eruca Sativa Leaf Extract, Camellia Japonica Leaf Extract, Sodium Hyaluronate (10PPM), Behenyl Alcohol, Poly C10-30 Alkyl Acrylate, Polyglyceryl-3 Methylglucose Distearate, Decyl Glucoside Tromethamine, Carbomer, Acrylates/C10-30 Alkyl Acrylate Crosspolymer, Sodium Stearoyl Glutamate, Polyacrylate Crosspolymer-6, Adenosine, Xanthan Gum, t-Butyl Alcohol, Tocopherol, Hydrolyzed Hyaluronic Acid (1PPM), Inositol, Hyaluronic Acid (0.01PPM), Pentylene Glycol, Ethylhexylglycerin

Things to expect from the Hyalu-Cica Water-Fit Sun Serum:

  • chemical sunscreen
  • lightweight
  • white-cast free
  • dewy finish
  • soothing and moisturizing properties
  • UV agents: Uvinul A Plus, Uvinul T 150, Bisoctrizole & Iscotrizinol

This sunscreen is a total charmer. From packaging to performance, everything will likely impress even the toughest of critics. It dispenses through a pump which I find really helps to accelerate the application process. The chemical formulation is laden with ingredients to give you both soothing and moisturizing properties while keeping your skin protected from UV damage. It’s something dry skin will probably enjoy all year long. If you have oily skin, you can complete two steps with one product with this due to its moisturizing properties.

The texture can be best described as a marriage between a watery lotion and serum. It is a fuss-free formulation that requires almost zero effort to blend in and best for those that prefer their sunscreens to be free of white casts. This one imparts a dewy glow on skin.

For those that find chemical sunscreens irritating to their skin and eyes, I’m happy to share that I didn’t experience any kind of discomfort while using this. The formulation never caused my eyes to tear up, sting, nor did it cause my skin to break out. If you are someone who wears makeup often, I find this to sit under makeup obediently. It does not cause any weird shifting or pilling.

In short, I do think this sunscreen is worth the hype as it has a wonderful texture that most will enjoy. I don’t mind white casts but just about everyone I know prefers sunscreens that go on transparent. If you are after a white-cast free formulation that moisturizes, soothes and protects, I recommend this. It’s suitable for all skin tones and can be used all year long for most.

》 Madagascar Centella Air-Fit Suncream Light SPF30 PA++++

A non-nano physical sunscreen that blocks UV rays, while simultaneously brightening the skin. This summer must have is lightweight on the skin and protects against wrinkles.

I’ve always had a fondness for physical sunscreens therefore I was incredibly stoked to try this. I agree that oftentimes their formulations make them difficult to love and I may be a part of the minority but they are my absolute favorite.

 

Ingredients: Water, Zinc Oxide, Propanediol, Dicaprylyl Carbonate, Butylene Glycol, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Benzotriazolyl Dodecyl p-Cresol, Centella Asiatica Extract (29,400PPM), Polyglyceryl-3 Distearate, Niacinamide, Caprylyl Methicone, C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate, 1,2-Hexanediol, Pentylene Glycol, Cetearyl Alcohol, Portulaca Oleracea Extract, Houttuynia Cordata Extract, Polyhydroxystearic Acid, Glyceryl Stearate, Hydrolyzed Jojoba Esters, Sodium Polyacryloyldimethyl Taurate, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Glyceryl Stearate Citrate, Polyacrylate Crosspolymer-6, Methylpropanediol, Ethylhexylglycerin, Xanthan Gum, Adenosine, Polyether-1, T-Butyl Alcohol, Biosaccharide Gum-1, Madecassic Acid, Asiaticoside, Asiatic Acid

 

Things to expect from the Madagascar Centella Air-Fit Suncream Light: 

  • brightening, anti-wrinkling properties
  • Zinc Oxide
  • great for daily use
  • hypoallergenic formulation
  • SPF30 PA++++
  • minimal white cast
  • Skincalm Complex (Portulaca Oleracea Extract, Houttuynia Cordata Extract and Centella Asiatica Extract)

To avoid any possibilities of confusion, I’d like to point out that Skin1004 has two sunscreens named Air-Fit Suncream. One is called Plus and today’s product, Light. They are housed in different packaging and intended for different audiences. Plus is fitted with SPF50+ PA++++ whereas Light has a slightly lower SPF. Both utilize physical UV filters and are great for anyone seeking a good SPF for daily use however the two are different in terms of texture and how they feel on the skin. If your skin leans more on the sensitive side and you’re not particularly seeking something with sebum control, I recommend Light over Plus.

The sunscreen dispenses via an identical pump to the Hyalu-Cica Water-Fit Sun Serum. This texture is creamy and as the name suggests, feels lightweight and breathable on skin. The formula feels immediately soothing once it comes in contact with skin and I think in terms of application, it’s on par with the Hyalu-Cica Water-Fit Sun Serum for me. As a physical SPF, the Air-Fit Suncream does leave a light tone-up effect on skin but it’s a flattering one that gives my skin a brightened and even appearance.

This sunscreen possesses no drawbacks for me. The semi-matte finish is one that I enjoy most as it lends skin a moisturized look. While this formula is fragrance-free, I definitely pick up a scent however it’s not an unpleasant one. In fact it reminds me a bit of rice, it could just be my nose too. Like the Hyalu-Cica Water-Fit Sun Serum, this sunscreen also works well with makeup and as it’s intended for sensitive skin and is a physical formulation, it’s no surprise that this didn’t irritate my skin or eyes.

The lower SPF makes this an ideal candidate for individuals seeking a mild formula for daily protection.  As always while it’s crucial to apply sunscreen, it’s even more important that you reapply when necessary because the effect of sunscreen wears off and the promised protection will be reduced throughout the day.

 

 

If time were a luxury I could afford, I would love to offer my readers in-depth reviews on everything I received as Skin1004 was extra generous with the number of products they sent over but alas I have only one face. I narrowed it down to the ones that I thought would work for most skin types. Hopefully my thoughts on these help you decide if these products are for you. If you have any questions regarding the products in this post, please leave me a comment down below.

 

For more information on  Skin1004 or the products you see here, please visit skin1004.com.

Shop the products at YESSTYLE and save with my code JUNOMOMMA3

Ampoule / Hyalu-Cica Water-Fit Sun Serum / Air-Fit Suncream Light / Quick Calming Pad

4 Comments Add yours

  1. On my way to olive Young (Wirye) right now to see if I can score some of these bad boys!!
    And yes to toner pads. I used to think them a bit silly but somehow find it difficult to return to sheet masks now.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. hoppershake says:

      I am obsessed with their toner pads, the absolute best that I’ve tried! And the sun serum is a must try. It’s all the rage at the moment and for legit reasons. Hope you can find these at your Olive Young! ❤

      Like

  2. Simply Saima says:

    These sound so nice! Thank you for the review 😀 I saw this brand being promoted at a concert I went to a few months ago and was just saying the English numbers not thinking for a second to read it as Skin Cheonsa until now, such clever naming 😀 My husband’s laughing because he knew straight away how this brand would be pronounced just by me saying it’s a Korean brand, and it reminded him of how I often say GS25 or the singer 10cm wrong too 😂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. hoppershake says:

      😂😂😂 that’s so cute though!

      I figured a lot of people knew they were called Skin Cheonsa til I realized through a convo with friends that they didn’t. That’s why I had to work that into the intro 😂 some might think the numbers stand for something totally different 🤣

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply