[Review] Dewytree Urban Shade Anti-Pollution Sun 50+ PA++++

I love trying out new sunscreen because there’s always something better than what I’m currently using. Formulations are constantly being improved to appease finicky skincare enthusiasts, like myself. The thing with physical sunscreen being inferior to chemical ones in terms of texture and finish is a thing of the past. While my skin never minded chemical sunscreen before, it no longer agrees with them.

My eyes cry tears of extreme pain when chemical sunscreens get anywhere near them. Therefore I tend to avoid them and try to only use physical sunscreen. However, I do think chemical sunscreen wins in terms of texture.

I don’t remember when I had realized Urban Shade Anti-Pollution Sun was a physical sunscreen but that was the moment it piqued my interest. When I first laid eyes on this sunscreen (which was by chance via the internet), it appeared quite large, like sunscreen-for-the-body-large. I didn’t take notice of its size (in volume) so I was quite surprised when it arrived in a smaller than imagined box. But I find it adorable and very travel-friendly. The colors and font is also very easy on the eyes.

Dewytree Urban Shade Anti-Pollution Sun 50+ PA++++ placed first as a new product on Hwahae in 2018 under the sunscreen category which was how some become familiar with the product.

Urban Shade Anti-Pollution Sun also makes it appeal to those of us residing in Korea where there’s a significant amount of fine dust that wreaks havoc not just on our body but skin as well. That’s probably why they named it “Anti-Pollution Sun”. There are three other sunscreens all under the same Urban Shade line, and each offer something a bit different.

Ingredients: Water, Cyclomethicone, Zinc Oxide, Propanediol, Titanium Dioxide, Polyglyceryl-3 Polydimethylsiloxyethyl Dimethicone, Dicaprylyl Carbonate, Calamine, Caprylyl Methicone, 1,2-Hexanediol, Carthamus Tinctorius Seed Oil, Marrubium Vulgare Extract, Biosaccharide Gum-4, Tagetes Erecta Flower Extract, Magnesium Sulfate, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Salvia Hispanica Seed Extract, Centella Asiatica Extract, Houttuynia Cordata Extract, Hydrogen Dimethicone, Aluminum Hydroxide, C30-45 Alkyl Cetearyl Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Polyglyceryl-2 Dipolyhydroxystearate, Stearic Acid, Fructooliogosaccharides, Saccharide Hydrolysate, Citrus Aurantium Bergamia (Bergamot) Fruit Oil, Helianthus Annuus Seed Oil, Citrus Aurantium Dulcis Peel Oil Expressed, Pullulan, Olea Europaea Fruit Oil, Ethylhexylglycerin, Octyldodecanol, Pelargonium Graveolens Flower Oil, Lavandula Angustifolia Oil, Rosa Damscena Flower Oil, Echium Plantagineum Seed Oil, Glycerin, Ocimum Basilicum Oil, Cardiospermum Halicacabum Flower/Leaf/Vine Extract, Helianthus Annuus Seed Oil Unsaponifiables, Citric Acid, Tocopherol

I know I proclaimed my love for Sidmool Min Jung Gi Suncream SPF 40 PA++ but let me tell you I lack brand loyalty. So what does this offer that has made it claim a spot in my heart? Out of all the sunscreens I currently own, this one has the best texture. It is so easy to work with that I sometimes feel like I’m putting on lotion rather than sunscreen. While this was a feature I often found in chemical or hybrid sunscreens in the past, it seems like it can be found in a lot of physical sunscreens these days as well.

The second thing I love about this sunscreen is it’s tone-up ability. Most physical sunscreens are criticized for that awful white cast, this one provides a “pink calming tone-up” that makes my bare skin incredibly flattering. I can throw on a generous layer of this sunscreen, fill in my brows and add a bit of color to my lips and it actually doesn’t look bad at all. It looks as if I’ve got light make up on.

My friends with oily skin – guess what? This has a matte finish. Yes and I find that I don’t get oily for quite some time, which is quite unusual. When the oil kicks in, it usually does so on my nose and around the t-zone. Which isn’t surprising but I have to say, this one keeps me oil-free for a good 4-5 hours which is pretty darn good.

While I really like Sidmool Min Jung Gi Suncream SPF 40 PA++ – it requires a bit of tugging around if you wait too long to even it out. Being someone who’s tipped into the “mature skin” zone, I don’t really like tugging or pulling at my skin. Therefore, Dewytree Urban Shade Anti-Pollution Sun is my preferred choice. This one also has a higher SPF and PA++++. Like the one by Sidmool, this one doesn’t cause any irritating or itching.

My camera wasn’t able to pick up the light pink hue so you’ll just have to take my word for it. Notice the moisture-like texture in the second picture? Glides on like a dream, I tell ya.

 

This sunscreen has a matte finish once it dries, it hasn’t yet here.

Urban Shade Anti-Pollution Sun does have a scent but it doesn’t linger for long. There’s a slight citrus scent. I like that it’s not over-powering though.

Below are the all the products from the Dewytree Urban Shade Line. The first is for individuals who are looking for additional moisture in their sunscreen. The third is a waterproof formula and the last is a sun-stick for those who are looking for ease in application.

Overall, this has everything that I’ve been dreaming of in a sunscreen. It has mineral filters so my skin and eyes are incredibly happy. The texture makes application quick and easy. The tone-up effect works wonderfully as well. It’s at the top of my list for sunscreens at the moment and I would recommend it to anyone who’s looking for a good sunscreen.

The good:

  • SPF50+ PA++++
  • tone-up
  • 100% mineral filters (great for sensitive skin)
  • recommended for oily/sensitive skin
  • easy to work with texture
  • no over-powering scent

The bad:

  • may be more difficult to find
  • 30,000KRW (however there are constant sales, I got mine for half price)

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Jerlene says:

    I bought this after your recommendation, loves the texture!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. hoppershake says:

      Hi Jerlene! So happy to hear that you love the texture. This sunscreen still remains my favorite!

      Like

Leave a Reply