[Review] Aritaum Ppoyan Lip and Eye Makeup Remover

Finally, a review!

And finally a product that Get It Beauty gets right! I have to say, I’ve used a number products that were featured and highly rated by Get It Beauty but majority of them have fallen pretty short in my opinion. Maybe it’s because my expectations are always too high. I think I’ve only agreed with one or two of the products that placed first through their blind tests which is a shame because I’ve become a part of the minority who gives their blind tests little credibility.

Today, I’m actually reviewing a brand that I’m not that familiar with. There are a lot of Korean brands that I haven’t tried but I find it kind of odd that I’m barely getting around to trying an Aritaum product since their stores are abundantly found here.

lip&eyeremover

image source: google

I’m quite simple when it comes to finding a good eye makeup remover. I just want something that doesn’t sting and works effectively. There’s nothing more frustrating than not being able to remove waterproof mascara at the end of the day. I also dislike using a lot of product to remove my makeup. The Aritaum Ppoyan Lip and Eye Makeup Remover meets all of my requirements for a good makeup remover and more.

I think this is a product I can personally vouch for having gone through at least 5-6 bottles of it already. I came upon it after lurking around for a good eye makeup remover on Coupang a while back. The number of positive reviews piqued my curiosity so I ordered two bottles. I had actually only wanted one since I was unsure how I would like it but I didn’t feel like paying an additional 2,500 won for shipping so I decided to order two while hoping the product wouldn’t disappoint. Well, not only did it NOT disappoint but it became my new favorite remover.

So what exactly sets this lip and eye makeup remover apart from all the ones that I’ve reviewed? Well for starters, it’s incredibly cheap and amazingly effective. It’s also contained in a small bottle therefore the product is quite travel friendly for those who find themselves traveling often. If you find the quantity too small, there’s a larger version of it available as well.

If you look at the content contained in the bottle, you’ll noticed that it’s separated into two layers. One is a water layer and the other is an oil layer. Like other dual layer removers, you give it a good shake before dispensing an appropriate amount onto a cotton ball/pad. There’s no tugging or pulling required. Once you dispense the product, simply press it against your eyelid for a few seconds and let the remover work its magic.

ler1

The remover is gentle and does not sting so it works great on individuals who may have sensitivity with cleansing products. The three key ingredients in this product are rice, beans and barley. If you are interested, the entire ingredient list is below.

ler4

Ingredients: Water, Cyclopentasiloxane, Coconut Oil, Red Yeast, Rice Ferment Filtrate Extract Lactobacillus, Lactobacillus/Soybean Ferment Extract, Saccharomyces Ferment Filtrate, Oryza Sativa (Rice) Bran Oil, Natto Gum, Glycine Max (Soybean) Seed Extract, Caprylyl/capryl glucoside, Disodium EDTA, Dipotassium phosphate, Lauryl Methyl Gluceth-10 Hydroxy propy-ldimonium Chloride, Butylene Glycol, Sodium Chloride, Ethylhexylglycerin, Ethoxydiglycol, Coco-caprylate/caprate, Potassium Phosphate, Hexylene Glycol, Benzyl alcohol, Phenoxyethanol, Fragrance

(If you decide to re-post the ingredient list on your blog, please credit appropriately. Thank you.)

ler3

Free of animal derived ingredients, mineral oil, sulfate, colors and dyes.

ler2

The Aritaum Ppoyan Lip and Eye Remover has a faint scent that is similar to that of baby powder. Some say it has a floral scent but it smells more like baby powder to me. However the smell is so faint that you wouldn’t be able to detect it unless you literally put the bottle up to your nose and take a good whiff of it.
ler5

The bottle has a very small opening which gives you complete control over how much you want to dispense during each use.

ler6

Okay since we’ve got the details of the product out of the way, I’ll demonstrate the effectiveness of the remover below.

ler7

From top to bottom: Beauty People Lip Tint, Tony Moly Kiss Lover Style (Lovely Cherry), Tony Moly Perfect Eyes Eyeliner 02 Brown, Kiss Me Heroine Make Volume & Curl Mascara and Maybelline the Falsies Volume Express Waterproof

In the first picture above, I applied a couple of lip products, a pencil eyeliner and two mascara products to my arm. In the second I pressed a cotton pad soaked with the product over the lip and eye products and swept it back and forth a few times. The third picture shows the products completely removed.

ler8

With gentle pressure placed over the products, the remover was able to pick up this much.

 

ler9

Complete removal of the products applied to my arm.

Since this is a dual layer lip and eye makeup remover, I find that it does leave a bit of residue over my eyes and the area around it. However, since I always follow up with a foam cleanser, it doesn’t bother me much. If you can’t be bothered to use a foam cleanser afterwards, simply wash the areas of your eyes with water and that should do the trick.

Here’s the good:

  • gentle on the eyes
  • effectively removes waterproof makeup
  • affordable
  • available in two sizes: 120ml (a travel friendly size) and 250 ml.

And the bad:

  • leaves a slight oily film over the eyelids and areas around the eyes

If you’re able to find this product, do give it a try and let me know how you like it. I believe it’s available on Amazon, E-bay and most online shops that carry Korean skincare and makeup products. If you’re here in Korea, order it from Coupang (you can get it the very next day and it’s cheaper than buying it from Aritaum).

Hope you enjoyed the review. It’s been a while since I’ve written a review so it was sort of difficult and I actually had to refer to some of my older reviews because I had totally forgotten the format I used. I’m rusty from the long break. Anyway, do leave comments if you have any questions regarding the product. If you have other questions, send me an email using the “Contact Me” link and form above and I’ll try to get back to you as soon as I can.

Thanks for reading!

2 responses to “[Review] Aritaum Ppoyan Lip and Eye Makeup Remover

Leave a Reply

