Japanese Drugstore & Airport Haul

It’s been a while again since my last post and this one is a bit different from all the other ones since my haul was done abroad in Japan. I recently got back from a 3 day trip in Hokkaido, which by the way was amazing. I figured Hong Kong would be some kind of shopping mecca when I visited back in January but I ended up leaving empty handed. Japan was a whole different story though. The hubby and I left with light suitcases but returned with two incredibly heavy ones due to all the things we purchased there.

Before my trip to Japan, I did a bit of research on what to buy and where to buy them. Since I’m more into skincare than makeup, I spent most of my time looking up items that were affordable but offered decent quality. To my surprise, a lot of people recommended the drug stores in Japan. So I dug deeper and looked for products that people frequently purchased and tried to find ones that were appealing to my own skincare needs.

Since a lot of their products are labelled completely in Japanese, I figured I would have a hard time just writing down the product names. I mean, if you have ever seen what a Japanese drug store looked like, you would understand. Lost and confused would only be an understatement. I mean I have the courage just not the time to go through all of that. After I got a glimpse of what I was up against, I decided it was best to prepare myself.

IMG_9829

So I did what I do best, I compiled a list of items I wanted by printing out pictures of the products that appealed to me and glued them onto my planner. Once we were in Japan, I whipped it out and used the pictures as a guide to locate the products. A lot of the more popular items are located at the end of an aisle or at some special display. So for me, items such as Cure Natural Aqua Gel and Biore UV Aqua Rich Watery Essence were a whole lot easier to find.

IMG_0135

I was on a scavenger hunt determined to find all the products I wanted. And I found everything except for a pack of soap but I figured I didn’t want it that badly so I just left it out. If you’re unlike me and find it tedious to find the products on your own, there are store employees scattered throughout ready to assist. Just show them the picture of the product you’re looking for and they’ll point you in the right direction.

The items I bought were tax free but keep in mind that you have to make a purchase over 5400 yen otherwise you’ll be subjected to pay their sales tax at 8%.

I did my two drug store hauls at Don Quijote and Bic Camera. I had actually wanted to go to Matsumoto Kiyoshi and there was one a few stores down from Don Quijote but it seemed quite small so I opted to do all my shopping at the former instead.

There’s a special tax free counter so look for that when you’re ready to pay for your purchases. And of course have your passport handy. They will print out a receipt and staple it to a page of your passport. Your purchase will be placed in a clear plastic bag and taped. Once the bag is sealed, you can’t open it – if you do and it’s discovered, you may be subjected to pay taxes on your purchase.
IMG_0091IMG_0088
Here are the products I got. Not all of them are mine though. A few bags of shower gel for the hubby were purchased from both Don Quijote and Bic Camera.


IMG_0103 IMG_0107

And last but not least, some snacks we got from New Chitose Airport!

IMG_0092

I’m not sure if I’ll be able to review any of the products from this haul since my biggest challenge is not being able to read any Japanese. But should any of those products inspire me to, I will try to share my experience with you all in the near future!

Leave a Reply

