[Review] Primera Cleansing Oil Avocado Balancing

A cleansing oil keeping it tender and smooth as make-up residues and skin impurities are removed, and at the same time, avocado oil imparts a noticeable sense of softness to the skin to keep it supple and smooth.

cleansingoil

Traces of sebum, makeup residue, and pollutants that cause skin trouble typically remain on the skin. Pollutants can cause inflammation and other skin problems, hastening skin aging. PRIMERA is a line of cleansing products that smoothly and thoroughly remove impurities from the skin leaving your skin complexion bright and your skin completely clean and clear.

oil1

oil2

There are three selling points to this product. The first being purification, second-mild moisture cleansing and the last- environment-friendliness.

  • Purification: Sulforaphane, from broccoli sprout extracts, helps discharge the skin’s impurities and protects the skin from pollutants.
  • Mild, moisture cleaning: Energy from the sprouts provides continuous moisture throughout the cleansing process, which can otherwise leave the skin feeling dry, thus smoothing and hydrating the skin.
  • Environment-friendliness: Formulated with safe, eco-friendly grown raw ingredients and delivered in a recyclable package, the cleanser is environment-friendly and offers happy, healthy beauty that breathes together with nature.
oil4

INGREDIENTS: CETYL ETHYLHEXANOATE, TRIETHYLHEXANOIN, POLYGLYCERYL-10 DIOLEATE, HYDROGENATED POLY (C6-14 OLEFIN), PEG-8 GLYCERYL ISOSTEARATE, CAPRYLIC/CAPRIC TRIGLYCERIDE, PENTAERYTHRITYL TETRAETHYLHEXANOATE, CYCLOPENTASILOXANE, HYDROGENATED POLYISOBUTENE, CYCLOHEXASILOXANE, AVOCADO OIL (7.5 mg), BROCCOLI EXTRACT, BUCKWHEAT EXTRACT, BRUSSEL SPROUTS EXTRACT, SUNFLOWER EXTRACT, STRAWBERRY LEAF EXTRACT, PHYLLANTHUS EMBLICA EXTRACT, GLYCINE SOJA (SOYBEAN) STEROLS, SOYBEAN OIL, HEXYL LAURATE, CETEARYL ALCOHOL, HYDROGENATED PALM GLYCERIDES CITRATE, ORANGE PEEL OIL, LEMON PEEL OIL, LIME OIL

oil3

You can tear along where “open” is printed to read the content on the inside.

oil6

If you unfold the box, you can find more information printed inside in Korean, English and Chinese. I quite like that Primera uses a lot of English on their packaging and on the actual product container. I also like that the actual bottle of cleansing oil is separated from the pump.

oil5

If you’re new to cleansing oils, a single pump is all you really need to remove your makeup. I usually use an eye & lip makeup remover first and follow with either a cleansing oil/cream to dissolve whatever I’m wearing on my face. Since my mascara and eyeliner are both waterproof it does take a bit of work to remove so I usually massage the cleansing oil over my lids to get any stubborn residue left behind. It could just be me but my eyes do sting when they come into contact with this product. It doesn’t irritate my skin at all but my eyes really don’t like it. The cleansing oil does have a lemon/lime scent, but it’s neither overpowering or subtle. The oil rinses off easily and doesn’t leave behind any oiliness.

Honestly, I had really high hopes for all the products I ordered from Primera. I often came upon reviews from users calling it the higher end version of Innisfree which of course sparked my immediate interest. I’ve used three out of the four products I’ve ordered and so far, I can’t say I’m blown away. I’m actually a bit let down by Primera and I will go into further detail about the serum and cleansing cream once I review them but in all fairness this is a decent cleansing oil. However, for half the price, you can get something just as good, performance wise.

It does contain a number of extracts and oil that might be good for those with sensitive skin but there aren’t any significant differences between this and any of the cleansing products I’ve used. This product claims to leaves the skin smooth and hydrated- which may be true. It’s difficult to tell though. Since I usually apply lotion, serum and cream immediately after washing my face, it’s difficult to tell which products are responsible for moisturizing and hydrating my skin. In many ways, Primera does remind me of Innisfree just a more expensive version of it. It claims to be plant-extract based and eco-friendly- which it is but for those who may find their prices a bit steep, I recommend checking out Innisfree instead. I was extremely excited to try out their products and while discovering them was fun- I don’t feel impressed.

oil8The good:

  • effectively removes makeup

And the bad:

  • retails at 25,000 KRW
  • stings when comes into contact with eyes
  • might be difficult to find

 

4 responses to “[Review] Primera Cleansing Oil Avocado Balancing

  1. Thanks for the review! I’m generally impressed with Primera products. Sorry to hear they are not working that great for you. Have you tried their gel cream and the peeling gel? They’re my fav 🙂

    • Hi Stella!

      You know what? I had the highest hopes for Primera when I bought several of their products but I haven’t liked any of them. There’s something in their serum that isn’t compatible with my skin because I had the weirdest reaction to it. My skin would just itch in random spots when I used it. I had these spots that looked like mosquito or bug bites..and they would just appear randomly on my face. Since I’ve discontinued use of the serum, my skin has returned to normal.

      I did get a small sample of their peeling gel and thought it was just okay. I’m using their cleansing cream at the moment. It’s still too early for me to tell if I like it or not.

Leave a Reply

