My Skincare Routine (May 2014)

Time really does fly. Tomorrow officially marks this blog’s one year anniversary! Although I had originally planned this skincare routine post without knowledge of the one year anniversary, this is an even better way for me to celebrate it! I’m seriously making records again since that extremely long hiatus taken during the winter of last year.

Anyhow, I hope all is good with everyone. The weather has definitely gotten warmer here so it looks like the clay masks are going to have to make a comeback in my skincare routine. Except for the recent incorporation of the sheets masks & cream, the products you see below have pretty much been in my routine for the past few months.

So let me begin with my night routine. Please keep in mind that my skin is oily. I had a few dry patches in the winter and do have some dryness around the corners of my mouth from time to time, but that’s about it. The rest is just oily.

You probably won’t note much of a difference in the steps in my routine, the only variable would be the brands. I’ve linked the products that have been reviewed down below for your convenience! If anyone is interested in my old skincare routine, click here.

At night:

night

1. Laneige Lip & Eye Remover Waterproof
2. Banila Co. Clean It Zero
3. Sooryehan Yunha Cleansing Foam
4. Innisfree Jeju Volcanic Pore Toner
5. Laneige Water Bank Essence
6. Innisfree The Green Tea Seed Cream/The Green Tea Pure Deep Cream
7. Innisfree Eco Science Wrinkle Spot Essence/Isa Knox Eye Control Cream
Innisfree Green Barley Clear Scrub
Innisfree It’s Real Sheet Masks

1) Remove makeup – I have moved onto a number of new products since my last skincare routine post and one of my most happiest discovery is this point makeup remover by Laneige. I’ve already gone through 3 bottles of this. If I weren’t so darn curious, I would just continue using it. But I’m itching to try something new…therefore I’m gonna depart from it after this bottle. However, I can’t recommend it enough. As for my makeup cleanser, I use Banila Co Clean It Zero. While I love this cleanser for its performance, it’s quite expensive and after repurchasing it twice- I’m ready to move on. Don’t get me wrong, it’s a great product. I just get bored easily.

2) Cleanse – So after I remove all my makeup, I go in again with a foam cleanser to make sure everything gets completely removed. If you have read through a few of my reviews on cleansing products, you have probably been exhausted by my saying “I double cleanse” 🙂 Seriously though, I couldn’t stress it enough.

Exfoliate  (optional) – I think I exfoliate about 1-2x a week. I’m still using the same one I used last year. However I’ve been eyeing a number of new products. The Innisfree Green Barley Clear Scrub is more gentle than any of the other scrubs that I’ve used in the past. If you’re like me and can’t stand those sugar scrubs, this is a great alternative.

3) Tone – There are some who totally skip this step and I can totally understand but I’ve gotten quite used to it.

Mask (optional) – I’ve been using sheet masks for the past few weeks because I’m actually gearing up for a pretty big day. One of my pet peeves from doing this before was how sticky my face felt afterwards.  However these days, I’ve been ignoring that small discomfort and even pack on a light cream on top of the serum left behind from the mask. The results in the morning are incredible so I can’t gripe.

4) Essence – As you can see, my essence is nearly empty. This bottle actually lasted me quite a while. This is also another product that I really love by Laneige. I never got around to reviewing it which is a shame because I actually have nothing but praises for it. (This is a bit off topic but my sister resides in the US and usually uses whatever I send her. She has gone through skincare sets by Enprani, Innisfree and Tony Moly and I think I’m going to get her to try Laneige next!)

5) Cream – As an individual with oily skin, I’ve always had a fear of creams. However, I’ve slowly started to change my mind. You just have to find the right one for your skin type. If there are any individuals with oily skin like me, give the ones by Innisfree a try. You might just change your mind about creams. The two that my skin doesn’t disagree with are The Green Tea Seed Cream and The Green Tea Pure Deep Cream by Innisfree. I’ve also read great things about creams by Nature Republic but I haven’t had a chance to personally try them out yet.

6) Anti-Wrinkle Spot Essence/Eye Creams – Last but not least, TLC for the under eye wrinkles. I plan to do a review on the Innisfree Eco Science Wrinkle Spot Essence in the future so keep an eye out for that one.

In the morning:

morning0

1. Sooryehan Yunha Cleansing Foam
2. Innisfree Jeju Volcanic Pore Toner
3. Isa Knox Cellenium Essential Skin, Aurora Serum, Recharging Emulsion
4. IOPE UV Shield Sun Protector SPF 50+ PA+++/ Etude House Sun Prise Natural Corrector SPF 42 PA++

As you can see, this is just half of what goes on my face at night. I basically cleanse, tone, moisturize and apply sunscreen before applying my makeup.

1) Cleanse – Cleansing is a must in the morning. I know some people just wash with water but I can’t. My skin tends to get quite oily overnight so I never skip this step.

2) Toner – Immediately after cleansing, I tone again.

3) Serum/ Moisturize– I don’t really like to post about products that are not accessible to readers who are not residing in Korea. It just seems pointless to mention them since most would have difficulty obtaining them. But if anyone is curious, the current skin, emulsion (moisturizer) and serum set that I’m using is by Isa Knox and it’s available on cjmall.com. As far as I know, that’s the only place where you can purchase it. It’s not even available at department stores where Isa Knox is sold.

4) Sunscreen – After I moisturize, I pat on my sunscreen. I used to put my moisturizer on after my sunscreen but I’ve reversed the two and don’t think it’s so bad this way.

And that that concludes my daily skincare routine. That wasn’t too bad now, was it? I hope this helps some individuals who are just starting out. When I was just starting out on Korean skincare products, I remember having the hardest time understanding what skin, serum and essence meant. So I totally can identify with individuals who may find it difficult at first. A lot of brands are definitely making an effort by printing instructions and ingredients in English so things have definitely improved in recent years.

d-tox_peelinggel

Above is a product I recently purchased from Missha. I have only used it once however I intend to work it into my night routine. I plan on doing a separate review for it later so stay tuned for that!

Feel free to leave me a comment below if you have any questions regarding my skincare routine or if you want to, let me know what your skincare routine comprises of. Thanks for reading, have a great day!

9 responses to “My Skincare Routine (May 2014)

  1. Can you please reviewing the jeju volcanic pore toner? And btw, i love this post! Thank you for writing this!

    • I hate declining requests for reviews but unfortunately, I don’t think I will be able to review this product. If there are any specific questions you have about it, please send me an email! 🙂

    • Hi Jiann, I personally prefer Laniege’s Water Bank Serum. It has worked wonders on my skin. I’ve moved on since but I still think it’s a great serum. 🙂

  2. You said you have oily skin, but you used innisfree green tea seed cream. Doesnt that feel a tad bit too heavy (greasy looking) on the skin?

Leave a Reply

