[Review] IOPE UV Shield Sunscreen

Two reviews in the same week! Your eyes are definitely not fooling you. This is a review I had planned 5 months ago but I’m just now getting to it. I’m definitely taking advantage of this 4 day weekend. Since the weather is getting warmer and a whole sunnier, let’s talk sunscreen!

While there’s a plethora of articles online regarding what to look for and avoid when purchasing sunscreens, I’ll try to brief you on the things I usually look for. I basically look for a couple of ingredients and an SPF of at least 30.

I’m actually not that picky with sunscreens as long as they offer enough SPF (30 for me) and broad spectrum protection. I don’t care a great deal about high SPF because higher SPF doesn’t necessarily equate to more protection. Try telling my mother that, though. It is just a marketing gimmick but of course she doesn’t believe me.

iope
I don’t think I have come across Korean sunscreens that have had the words Broad Spectrum Protection. What I do see from time to time is UVA/UVB Protection. Which essentially is the same thing. To brief those who may be unsure of what to look for when purchasing sunscreen, you want something with enough SPF to protect you from UVB rays as well as the right ingredients to protect you from UVA rays as those are the ones that will penetrate deeper and cause wrinkles and age spots. If you’re into reading labels like I am, look for a sunscreen that has at least one of the following ingredients to ensure that it blocks UVA rays: Oxybenzone (some articles advise against purchasing sunscreens containing this while others regard it as a necessary ingredient), Avobenzone, Zinc Oxide, or Titanium Dioxide. IOPE UV Shield Sun Protector contains Titanium Dioxide.

iope4

I started using this sunscreen during the winter of 2013 and I’m nearly done with the tube. I often switch between this sunscreen and my Etude House Sun Prise Natural CorrectorSPF 42/PA++.  I discovered it after I set off on a curious search for other kinds of sunscreens with positive reviews. I decided to purchase this one although it was several times the price of the Etude House sunscreen. To my surprise, it delivers and does exactly what it claims. It’s lightweight and absorbs quickly upon application without leaving a white or greasy sheen. I do prefer this on days I wear makeup because I find my makeup to glide on more smoothly over it.

iope5

IOPE is based on highly-enriched herbal extracts and cutting-edge scientific technology. Through advancement from the science of herbs to a bioscience, IOPE achieves the best possible technology for beautiful skin by seeking a perfect balance between nature, science and humans.

iope6

This sunscreen is creamy however it is not thick and difficult to apply. There is a slight scent but it disappears quickly and it just smells like standard lotion so it most likely won’t irritate any individuals sensitive to smells a great deal. However do keep in mind that this sunscreen contains fragrance. Fragrance can cause irritation for those with sensitive skin.

iope3

IOPE UV Shield not only protects skin from harmful UV rays; it also reinforces skin’s natural ability to recover from sun damage. The IOPE UV SHIELD makeup line was designed to maintain trouble-free, healthy, glowing skin. The product texture is light and fresh, leaving no sticky residue or unwanted shine despite the high SPF level. Sunblock has never been more effective.

  • Light, fast-absorbing sun screen with skin whitening properties.
  • The feather-light texture enables absorption into the skin in no time, leaving the surface soft and fresh to the the touch.
  • As a licensed ingredient of Amore Pacific Co., Ltd., V.D Booster reinforces skin’s natural shield, soothing damaged skin to recover its healthy glow.

iopecollage

Directions: As the last stage of base makeup routine, take an appropriate amount and apply to the face. Gently pat to enhance absorption.

Before last year I never used a separate sunscreen for my face. I used BB creams with SPF but never bothered to use a separate sunscreen because I figured I had enough SPF in my cosmetics. But if you can, start early. I wish I had known the importance of wearing sunscreen earlier. Around the time that I started using Korean skincare products and cosmetics, there wasn’t an abundance of information available in English as there is today. Poor excuse for a science major though (sunscreens are not only worn in Korea so I can only blame myself for not being better informed). Had I known earlier, I would have put more effort into wearing sunscreen more religiously. I spend more time in the sun here in Korea than I ever did back home in the United States so wearing sunscreen is a definite must.

So far, we know this sunscreen absorbs quickly, is lightweight, carries a light scent, and also lightens skin. Now while it does whiten your skin, don’t expect anything drastic. The effect is temporary and nothing to fear. If you’re afraid it might make your appearance too ghastly white, don’t.

However, with the good comes the bad. This sunscreen does contain Octinoxate. If you google or look up Octinoxate, you might come upon articles that call this ingredient potentially dangerous. This is definitely something I have to read further into but for the time being, there are two ingredients that pose risks and should be avoided and they are: Oxybenzone and (Retinyl Palmitate)Vitamin A.

iope7

INGREDIENTS: Water, Butylene Glycol, Bis-ethylhexyloxyphenolmethoxyphenyltrizine (BEMT), C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate, Titanium Dioxide, Ethylhexile methoxycinnamate (Octinoxate), Dimethicone, Cyclopentasiloxane, Arbutin, Phenyl Trimethicone, Propylene Glycol Isostearate, Glyceryl Stearate, Cetyl Alcohol, Cichorium Intybus (Chicory) Root Extract,Glycoproteins, MethoxyPEG-114/Polyepsilon Caprolactone, Nylon-12, Cyclohexasiloxane, Silica, 1,2-Hexanediol, PEG-100 Stearate, Polyacrylate-13, Aluminum Stearate, Alumina, Polyisobutene, Stearic Acid, Polyhydroxystearic Acid, Polysorbate 20, Disodium EDTA, & Fragrance

Here’s the good:
– high SPF
– non-sticky formula
– light
– fast absorption

And the bad:
– slight pricey (26,140won)
– contains Octinoxate
– not fragrance free

iope2

I do believe this sunscreen is available through most online shops if you’re purchasing outside of Korea therefore availability shouldn’t be a problem. Although I have had my disappointments with IOPE in the past due to the large expectations I had for their Cushion Foundation, I quite like this sunscreen and I’m content with its performance.

My 4 day weekend concludes today so I don’t know when I’ll be able to put up a new review but I will definitely try!

3 responses to “[Review] IOPE UV Shield Sunscreen

  1. Tinosorb-S (third ingredient) is a good UVA-block, too. This sounds really nice, my only concern is cetyl alcohol, which is pore-clogging. :/

  2. Pingback: Hautpflege-Routine Update #3 - Bambi does·

Leave a Reply

