[Review] Sooryehan Yunha Cleansing Foam

I’ve seen Sooryehan around for quite some time but it never appealed to me since its colors and packaging are somewhat uninteresting and appears marketed towards a more mature age group (not that I’m not in that group, I’m just more drawn towards bright and happy colors). In addition its lack of English is another minus for me. But I think the main thing that has kept me away from this brand is I’ve never been a fan of oriental medicine or plants. I’ve always disliked the smell of it. However, since the weather has caused my skin to become more dry in certain areas, I got desperate and curious.

sooryehan4

Sooryehan Yunha Cleansing Foam – A moisturizing cleansing foam containing Myungyeondan, a low-irritating Oriental herbal property that promotes skin circulation, clarifies and revitalizes the skin. The smooth and gentle foam washes away impurities and makeup leaving the skin moist for a long time while avoiding the usual dryness encountered after cleansing.

I set aside my extreme distaste for the oriental medicine/herbs and decided to give Sooryehan a try. Lucky me, I was able to buy this cleansing foam and get two extra tubes for free. The funny thing is I bought the 160mL tube and got two 100mL for free. I’ve decided to give the 160mL tube and  to my mom for Christmas along with the many other products  that I’ve gotten her.

For those that may be unfamiliar with this brand. Here is a bit about the story behind the brand:

The Sooryehan brand is essentially the Skin Science of Oriental Medicine! Sooryehan consists of 14 oriental medicine-based substances and was named to convey that it “makes the face appear fair like jade”. Its ingredients are carefully combined according to skin types following an ancient prescription to restore the natural moisture and radiance of the skin. Its renewing properties invigorate and refresh your skin by restoring the delicate balance of yin yang in your complexion.

Source: http://www.usacosmetics.net/brand-stories

Since it’s winter here, I’ve been taking extra steps in my skincare routine to keep my skin moisturized as the dry weather introduced a number of dry patches (however, they’ve been take care of). I’ve also been exfoliating a lot less. I still get oily but not as much as I do during the summer.

Because I’m not a big fan of oriental medicine, I find the smell of this cleansing foam to be repugnant. Yes, it offends my nose in many ways. It’s a mix of oriental medicine and men’s cologne. But if you’ve got no problems with smells or oriental medicine in general, you’ll be fine. I’ve been using this as my daily cleanser and I would have to say it goes in my top 3. Sure I might have to hold my breath while I wash my face but it’s only a tiny problem that I’ve got to deal with. It’s a gentle cleanser and it leaves my skin feeling clean without that extra tightness that other cleansers do. It actually softens my skin. My skin feels purified, cleaned but not dry and tight like it’s been stripped of its moisture.

One of the things that peeves me a bit about this cleanser is its lack of ingredient listing. There is no way you can look over the ingredients by simply looking it up online. The only way to do it is to read reviews (although I didn’t see any that included one) as the ingredient list is provided only inside a small pamphlet you get when you purchase the cleansing foam. Therefore you can either get it by physically having the product or come across a review that includes it.

sooryehan
sooryehan2

sooryehan3

The expiration date printed on the tube.

This cleansing foam retails at 23,000 won which is quite expensive as most others might range anywhere from 4,000-15,000 won. The prices might fluctuate a bit depending on where you end up purchasing it. It’s pricey although I have to agree with its claims. It’s easy to wash off and leaves the skin feeling clean, refreshed and even supple.

I took a picture of the ingredient list that was printed on the pamphlet that came along with the product (shown below). There are tons of extracts and a few of the usual that appear in the first 3 rows of the ingredients list.

sooryehan6

Glycerin, Myristic Acid, Butylene Glycol, Potassium Cocoyl Glycinate, Water, Potassium Hydroxide, Stearic Acid, Cocoamidopropyl Betain,  Lauric Acid, Glycol Stearate, Glycerol Stearate,  PEG-100 Stearate, Sodium Methyl Cocoyl Taurate,   Angelica Tenuissima Root Extract, Mung Bean Extract, Trichosanthes Kirilowii Root Extract, Certaonia Siliqua (Carob) Fruit Extract, Ginseng Extract, Pogostemon Cablin Leaf Extract, Apricot Fruit Extract,  Poria Cocos Extract, Chrysanthellum Indicum Extract, Mentha Arvensis Leaf Extract, Red Bean Extract,  Prunus Persica Kernel Extract, Pagoda Tree Flower Extract, Cornus Officinalis Fruit Extract, Schizandra Chinesis Fruit Extract, Lycium Chinense Fruit Extract, Morus Nigra Fruit Extract, Rubus Coreanus Fruit Extract,  Pinus Koraiensis Seed Extract, Hydrogenated Lecithin, Tocopheryl Acetate, Trisodium EDTA, Propylparaben, Tartrazine (No. 4 & 5), & Fragrance

sooryehan8

To use: During the cleansing state, dispense an adequate amount on wet palm, lather into rich foam. Gently apply over face and rinse with warm water.

Sooryehan leads the oriental medicine-based cosmetic market and would probably be considered expensive compared to other road shop brands that I have reviewed. However, I do think it’s worth checking out. I do think my skin needs more love now that the weather is drier. If your foam cleanser is drying out your skin, I believe this one is worth checking out. However, do keep in mind that it has a pretty strong oriental scent that is quite hard to ignore. Other products in this line include Yunha Cleansing Cream and Massage Cream.

Here’s the good:
– non-drying
– leaves skin feeling soft and supple

And the bad:
– oriental fragrance
– expensive

Leave a Reply

