[Review] Banila Co. Clean it Zero

It was rather difficult to sit down and put this review together since it’s been so long since I wrote my last review. I had a bit of trouble getting started and then a little more organizing my thoughts. But here it is finally! Today, I bring to you a brand that has never been reviewed on my blog but a brand maybe all of you are already familiar with.

Honestly, putting on makeup is a chore but removing it is quite enjoyable for me. I love trying out new cleansers and the various types that are out there. I used to be a big fan of oil cleansers until I was introduced to sherbet types one day  after being dragged into Tony Moly. I knew then, oil cleansers had tough competition as sherbet is new and so much more fun.

I actually ordered this cleanser online as I haven’t seen any Banila Co. stores in my area. Anyway, after my positive experience with the Tony Moly Relaxing Aqua Sherbet Cleanser, I really wanted to see how this one was in comparison. For any curious minds out there, this one of course debuted much earlier than the one put out by Tony Moly. Although I’m not entirely sure if it’s the first among all the sherbet cleansers out there. I believe Mizon also has one (I’ve been eyeing it for a while now). It’s actually been on the market for 2 years or so I read. I’m not surprised that I just found out about it since I was still into oil cleansers earlier this year.

Anyway, I added this to my shopping cart along with their quite popular primer some time in the summer. I was incredibly excited to try it out but because I had to finish up my Innisfree Green Barley Cleansing Jelly Oil, it took some time to get to it. This cleanser retails for 18,000 won and there are three other variations of it that are a bit more expensive (information will be included at the end of the review). The one I have here is the original one.

cleanit

The packaging is quite simple but the product is contained in a sturdy plastic tub. The other variations of this particular cleanser comes in other colors such as gray, green and mint (see below for pictures).

cleanit2

It looks like the cleanser is contained in a frosted glass type of tub but it isn’t. It’s actually just plastic however it’s sturdy and would do fine if you were to mishandle it or say drop it.

cleanit3

For those concerned with keeping things hygienic, this one comes with a spatula that I find quite handy.

cleanit5

Ingredients: Mineral oil, Cetyl ethylhexanoate, PEG-20 Glyceryl Triisostearate, PEG-10 Isostearate, Polyethylene, Butylene Glycol, Water, Raspberry Leaf Extract, Bamboo Stem Extract, Aspalathus Linearis Extract, Mistletoe Leaf Extract, Angelica Polymorpha Sinensis Root Extract, Carica Papaya (Papaya) Fruit Extract, Acerola Fruit Extract, Epilobium Angustifolium (Fireweed) Leaf Extract, BHT, Butylparaben, Red No. 102, Tartrazine (Yellow No. 5), & Fragrance

Ingredient wise – I can see a few ingredients that might raise eyebrows. The first would of course be mineral oil and the other two would be butylene glycol and butylparaben. I believe mineral oil might deter some away from trying this as it is a highly debated ingredient. Some swear that we shouldn’t be slathering anything containing mineral oil on our skin while others have been using this for ages without problems. If you’re trying to steer clear of any products containing mineral oil then I would say, this product might not be for you. If you’re okay with the ingredient then definitely try it out as I think it’s a decent and effective product.

cleanit6

Unfortunately, Banila Co. products have very little to no English printed on their packaging aside from the product name. The product description and instructions are all in Korean.

cleanit7

The date printed above is the expiration date.

A pretty long expiration date. Although I’m sure I’ll use all of this up in a month though. I’ve already got a few people I want to get this cleanser for. They’ve got a special edition of this cleanser and I’m not sure if it’s available through online shops but you can get directly from banilaco.com.

cleanit8

Texture and scent wise, this product is very similar to the sherbet cleanser by Tony Moly. It’s light in texture and has a berry scent that lingers for a short moment but is gone by the time you wash it off. So no worries there if you’re sensitive or not a fan of scented products. I have not experienced any breakouts since I started using this. It’s gentle on the skin but effective enough to remove all of my makeup.

cleanit9

When I first started using this, I scooped more than I needed and wasted a bit of a product. You will be able to gauge the amount you need after a few tries. You really won’t need that much to get your makeup off. The amount pictured above is actually in excess of what you would need and I scooped that much just for the picture. I suppose the amount would really differ from person to person. Some may prefer to use more while others would be content with just a bit.

One of my favorite things about sherbet cleansers is the way your makeup just melts the instant you start massaging it onto your face. The texture does change from sherbet/sorbet to more of an oil. To get the cleanser off, you can either wash it off with water or use tissues. I find that water usually suffices however as I’ve said numerous times, I usually don’t stop there as I’m an advocate of double cleansing. However, you could certainly stop there if you’re comfortable and feel that it has sufficiently removed your makeup.

To demonstrate the effectiveness of this cleanser, I’ve applied a number of products onto my arm in the picture below. I’ve got mascara (although the wand couldn’t pick up too much), lipstick, eyeliner, BB cream and lip tints.

cleanit10

Click to enlarge the picture for product names.

Below, I smeared Banila Co. Clean It Zero over the products applied. As you can see, some of my BB cream got dragged across my arm along the way.  After a bit of massaging, a number of the products started to come off right away. The only ones that were a bit difficult to remove were the waterproof eyeliner and two lip tints. After vigorously rubbing my arm, the lip tints remained, albeit only faintly. Despite its claims, I would say, this one is not that great with waterproof products. I would also caution others on using this on their eyes as it does cause your vision to go blurry once the product comes in contact with your eyes. I just prefer having my point makeup removed in advance with a separate eye makeup remover.

cleanit12

I accidentally scooped a bit too much of the cleanser and ended up with excess amounts of it (hence the runny appearance). It actually never runs when applied to my face and like what’s pictured above, it literally melts your makeup off your face. As you can see the two Peripera Peri’s tints are quite staining therefore it takes more effort for them to be removed.

As I have stated above, I don’t use this for the purpose of removing my point makeup. I use it solely for the purpose of getting my face makeup off. I included the lip tints, lipstick and eye makeup for those who may be interested in how well this cleanser removes those particular types of products.

One of the other benefits of sherbet type cleansers is not having to worry about it slipping through the cracks of your fingers if you were ever a step too late to transfer it onto your face.  Another thing I really like about this cleanser is its smell. I’m not big on product fragrance unless it’s of course lotion/perfume but this is one deserves a mentioning. If you’re into fruity smells, you might just like this.

cleanit4

For those who may have sensitive skin or are looking for other skincare benefits, there are other versions of this product. Zero Purity is for individuals with sensitive skin. Zero Radiance has moisturizing and brightening effects. I actually don’t know if I would shell out money on a cleanser that advertises itself as moisturizing and brightening though. I mean, I would rather look into skincare products for those effects rather than a cleanser. However, since I haven’t used any of the other versions, I wouldn’t know if those claims are true or not.

cleanitzerovariations

Clean It Zero is available in Purity for those with sensitive skin, Radiance for individuals looking for cleansers that have moisturizing and brightening effects and Reservatrol which contains grapeseed and olive oil and works to leave the skin youthful & supple. These three are available for 22,000 won each.

Here’s the good:
– spatula included
– pleasant smell
– effectively removes makeup (including mascara)
– gentle on the skin

And the bad:
– may be pricey to some
– not as effective with waterproof products

For those who want to try this cleanser but hesitant due to the steep price, I would recommend giving the Tony Moly Relaxing Aqua Sherbet Cleanser a try as the two are quite similar with the later being half the price.

4 responses to “[Review] Banila Co. Clean it Zero

  1. A lot of people like this product and I am interested in Banila Co. products ^.^
    Thanly you for the detailed review ~~

    meishenmeweishenme.blogspot.com

    • Thank you for reading 🙂

      Being the first review I’ve written in a long time, it felt somewhat rusty and inadequately covered. But I really did try my best.

  2. Hello! I’ve got some questions for you, please help. Regarding the tony moly sherbet, have you used it on the eyes? Does it create stinging? (I don’t mind blurry vision) Another thing I’ve noticed about Korean lip products, most of them never list ingredients on them, like ever. I tried asking some seller but they said they don’t have any ingredient list. I’m just curious to know (sometimes I don’t wanna put carmine on my lips). Thank you so much!

    • The Tony Moly one has the same effect on the eyes, no stinging whatsoever.

      I think you’re right, there’s never an ingredient list on the packaging of lip products here in Korea. Don’t know why that is. They’ll list like key ingredients from time to time but leave out the rest. If you want the whole list, check out the stores’ websites, they do provide them.

Leave a Reply

