My Skincare Routine (May-October)

One of my readers requested a post on my skincare routine, so here it is! I figured this post might help out individuals with oily skin like myself. My skin is quite oily but not acne-prone. It’s usually oiliest during the summer, although I have to mention it still gets oily during the rest of the year, but just not as oily.

Anyhow, I will include pictures of the products that I use and any other specifics that might be helpful to others. If you’ve got any questions or comments, please leave them below! My morning and night routines slightly differ and the number of products that I use are also different.

(The majority of the products below have been reviewed so you can just click on the link below the picture to read more on the products that I’ve posted.)

At night:

1) Remove makeup – What goes on, must come off. I wear makeup maybe 6 out of 7 days out of the week so this is a step that I take almost every day. Point makeup is the least fun and most tedious to remove. I use both my Etude House and Tony Moly lip and eye removers to get my eye shadow, liner and mascara off. I actually dislike both but throwing them away just seems like  a waste so I’ve been trying to use them up before I try out my Laniege one (which I’m hoping will blow me away).

2) Make up cleanser (Oil-cleansers/Sherbet cleansers/Jelly oil-cleansers) – I’m a huge advocate of double cleansing therefore I usually get my makeup to dissolve with a makeup cleanser first before I proceed to using a foam cleanser to give it that final wash.

3) Foam cleanser – I use different foam cleansers in the morning and night. My Etude House Baking Powder BB Cleansing Foam is reserved for night washes only. Baking Powder B.B Deep Cleansing Foam instantly became a favorite for night time cleansing and I’ve already repurchased my second one just so I’ll have another  one whenever the first one runs out. You can click on the link above to read my review on it.

Exfoliate (optional) – I exfoliate twice a week to remove dead skin cells and to give my skin that instant lift. Since I don’t do it on a daily basis, I decided not to number it however when I do exfoliate it, it’s between these two steps.

4) Tone – I tone right after washing. Some people might find this step unnecessary however toning picks up residual makeup, cleanses pores, refines skin tone and removes dead skin cells. I tone in both my night and day time routines.

Mask (optional)  – Once or twice a week or however I see fit, I use the Volcanic Pore Clay Mask. I think I use it about once a week these days. I usually leave it on for 20 minutes while I catch whatever prime time shows that are on.

Collagen Eye Patches (optional) – One of my favorite things to do is to stick cool eye patches under my eyes while I’m on the computer or watching TV, however I always seem to forget about them since they are kept in my refrigerator.

5) Serum/Cream – Serums are a must these days. I was never into serum until I tried out Innisfree Green Tea Seed Serum. One of the main reasons why I didn’t use it was because I didn’t really understand what it was for. As for cream, I just thought it was too thick and would clog my already oily pores. However I use both and love both now. I think it’s just a matter of finding one that’s right for your skin. With creams, you just have to find one that isn’t too heavy and thick on your skin. I alternate between the two creams that I have (Innisfree Green Tea Pure Deep & Green Tea Seed Cream) and I like them both.

7) Anti-wrinkle Eye Cream – I’ve been trying out a sample of the IOPE Retinol TX Intensive. I like that it doesn’t leave my under eye area oily and maybe I’m making this up but I believe it’s already working. More on it later after I try out a full size version though.

This might seem like one too many steps to some but I’m sure there are others who have even more steps in their skincare routine. Each step is important to me though. I can honestly say I spend more time and money on skincare than I do cosmetics. It doesn’t make sense to me to spend loads of money on cosmetic products to cover up pores, scars and blemishes when we can improve the condition of our skin by just simply taking better care of it with the right methods and products.

In the morning:

1) Cleanse –  I clean my face with a foam cleanser as soon as I get up. I know people who are content with just splashing water on their face. To each their own but I’ve got oily skin so washing in the morning is a must. I use both foam cleansers pictured above. I alternate between them and don’t have a preference.

2) Tone/Essence – I head straight for my toner as soon as I wash my face. I’ve been trying out the Green Persimmon Pore Toner for the past month and a half but I still like my Etude Wonder Pore Freshner. Therefore I alternate between them.  I forgot about the essence when I made the collage above so it’s actually pictured with the toners. I use this essence after I tone and it specifically targets my enlarged pores.

3) Sunscreen – I wait a good 5-10 minutes in between essence and sunscreen. However if you have this essence, you will notice that it doesn’t require a lot of time to fully absorb. I just do it because I don’t like layering products on too quickly. Since I’ve started this blog, I haven’t gone a single day without sunscreen. I used to skip sunscreen thinking I didn’t need as it was present in my BB cream. I leave my sunscreen on for 20 minutes before I proceed to the next step.

4) Moisturize – In the morning, I moisturize with Tony Moly Floria Nutra-Energy Toner and Lotion. While it’s labeled as a toner, it feels like a serum and has moisturizing properties. The lotion itself feels more like the actual moisturizer and I always use the two together.

After I moisturize, I proceed with my makeup application. Moisturizer is usually followed by primer and then the rest of my makeup.

As you can see, a lot of my skincare products come from Innisfree. Out of all the road shop brands that I buy from, Innisfree is my ultimate favorite. However, because I like it so much, I haven’t really tried to broaden my experience with other brands.  A lot of the products that I use are affordable and readily available so if you have any interest in them, leave me a comment or question below and I’ll get back to you as soon as I can.

22 responses to “My Skincare Routine (May-October)

  1. Thanks for the post! 🙂 I use Innisfree’s Jejubija anti-trouble facial foam and the matching moisturizer. I don’t find toners necessary though! Oh and you should definitely try out Beyond’s Angel aqua moisture CC cream! It has the coverage of a BB cream and it is 6-free! It is sold in Olive Young for 15,000 won! Just thought I wanted to share my favourite face product with you! 🙂

    • My boyfriend is also using the Jejubija anti-trouble line. I think he’s got the skin (toner) and moisturizer…and the foam cleanser as well. He’s got really bipolar skin. It’s gotten a lot better than what it used to be but he still gets a lot of random pimples. I still want to try the microcara from Innisfree. Haven’t had the chance to pick that one up yet. I will definitely keep an eye out for the CC cream you mentioned though. I’ve only tried one and I neither hate nor love it. I’m still on the lookout for good CC creams. It seems like a ton of them are not really suitable for people with oily skin.

      • I currently use TonyMoly luminous pure aura cc cream. Even though its a bit oily it dries pretty good and stays on for a long time. Not as long as my Skin79 Hot Pink BB cream, but it looks alot more natural.

      • I’m using the same CC cream but I get pretty oily from using it alone. Last week I tried putting some of my No-Sebum Mineral Powder on top of it and it turned out pretty well. Think I’m going to start doing that from now on because I quite like the CC Cream.

        I also have Skin79 Hot Pink BB Cream but I’ve used maybe twice. It was one of the products I believed would blow me away because it had tons of raved reviews but I was not impressed at all. I wish there someone I could give it to because it’s just sitting on my dresser.

      • You should definitely try the microcara! It is actually comparable to Maybelline’s Falsies! I have combination-oily skin but my skin seems to love it! I set the cc cream with Innisfree No sebum mineral pact and lasts me the entire school day! (which is about 10hours!)

      • I definitely have to try the microcara out if it’s comparable to Maybelline’s Falsies! Love the No-Sebum Mineral range from Innisfree!

    • Hi Pamela! Good question you asked there. I used to apply my sunscreen after my moisturizer but I found out that our sunscreen needs time to bind to our skin before it can be effective. So if you apply your moisturizer first, your sunscreen won’t be able to have any interaction with your skin and give it the protection that it needs. However this is only true of chemical sunscreens. Physical ones can be applied before or after moisturizer. Mine is a physical sunscreen. I just find that it applies rather unevenly after moisturizer so I tend to do it before.

      Hope that answers your question!

      • Yes it does thank you. Would you recommend from Etude house (I know you use Wonder Pore Toner) Wonder Pore Whipping Foaming? Or a regular cleanser (for my skin type) works fine?

      • I wrote out a long comment and was clicking back and forth to get some product names for you when my browser decided to close my comment tab! Ahhhh! Anyway, let’s try this again. I’ve only read reviews on the Wonder Pore Whipping Foaming so I can’t personally recommend it. There’s a brush that you have to purchase separately if you want the full effectiveness from the product. I don’t know but it looks drying. I mean it sounds good for people with oily skin but I rather be “glistening” with a bit of oil than have dry flaky skin…

        I think a mild cleanser would be fine for you. As long as you exfoliate twice a week and use a clay mask perhaps once a week, you’ll be alright. How’s the weather where you’re at? It’s getting cooler here and I’ve already noticed my skin calming down a great deal. Here are some products I’ve used that I would recommend for your skin type:

        Missha Super Aqua Refreshing Cleansing Foam (I really like this one, it’s great for those humid months.)
        Tony Moly Intense Care Snail Foam Cleanser (A bit pricier but I think it’s pretty decent.)
        Innisfree Olive Real Cleansing Foam (An old favorite. My family is using this one after I introduced it to them a few years ago.)

        I don’t recommend using any of the above alone to remove your makeup. If you wear makeup, my recommendation is to invest in a makeup cleanser and get your makeup to dissolve first and then follow up with a mild foam cleanser.

  2. I just bought the complete Etude House Ac clinic treatment :/ because it is meant for acne prone skin. But because I already have quite a few wrinkles I bought the Mizon snail eye cream and for those parts of my face (the nose and surrounding area) that get a bit dried and flaky I bought the Tony Moly Intense dual sleeping pack.
    I have in me Ebay shopping cart the Mizon oatmeal sherbet cleanser, Etude house pore wonder toner (I go through toner like crazy), Innisfree eco safety sun block and 3 different products from Lioele to treat pores and blackheads. What do you think?

    • Sounds like an adventure! I haven’t used any of those products but I’m curious how they’ll work out for you. The Mizon Oatmeal Sherbet Cleanser sounds interesting. I’m going to have to look that one up but refrain from buying it for now 😦 I just bought a sherbet cleanser so I should wait before purchasing another one. I hope the sun block won’t break you out. Keeping my fingers crossed for you!

  3. Just wanted to say that I LOVE your blog. I bought the pure deep cream a few days ago and so far I’m LOVING it! I have oily acne prone sensitive skin and I love the way it soaks in my skin. I have less inflammation and the second day of applying, I have no new breakouts. Coincidence? It could be, but for me, it’s a rarity to wake up and not have new breakouts. I’m crossing my fingers that this keeps working for me.

    Have you tried the No-Sebum BB Cream? I really want to get that as well but there are hardly any reviews any where. I actually tried their Anti-Trouble BB Cream and had interesting improvements with my acne (I didn’t get any new cystic acne the whole time I used it). I remember that the tube lasted me 6 months or more of daily use. The only drawbacks were that the shade I chose was too yellow for my skin tone and the BB Cream became oily very quickly (I’m looking for another BB that’s good for sensitive skin, controls oil and whitens acne marks).

    Your blog is such a breath of fresh air ❤

    • Thank you for the awesome comment, it totally made my day! I’m glad the Green Tea Pure Deep Cream is working out for you. It has worked wonders on me and I no longer fear the use of creams the way I did before.

      I haven’t tried the No-Sebum BB cream yet, although I am curious to try it. The thing is I have way too many BB creams on my hands right now and am trying to use them all up before I purchase anymore. I got most of them around the same time (I think in May) so hopefully they will be used up by the end of this year? Keeping my fingers crossed because I’ve already got my eyes on a few new ones!

      Once again, thank you for coming by, reading and the sweet comment! 🙂

  4. Hi! I just read your blog for the first time and was grateful to find an informative post regarding skincare for oily skin but was ultimately blown away by your attention to each question your reader asks! I’m 17 and am very, very new to skincare, makeup, etc, I just bought my first moisturizer yesterday (secret key’s snail gel cream)! I’ve heard that korean products are really effective for treating oily skin/acne and creating healthier skin (I mean look at those korean artists! Perfect skin!) but I’m not sure which ones (like facewash, toner, etc) I should use? I’m thinking about buying Etude Wonder Pore Freshner as a toner, but I’m stuck between choosing Etude House Baking Powder Cleansing Foam and Innisfree Jejubija anti-trouble facial foam because they both could reportedly treat oily skin/acne/blackheads? I’m also a bit confused regarding what an emulsion or essence is… Whew! Sorry for the long post! Needed huge help and thought I could ask you if it’s okay :’) Anyways your blog is awesome!!!

    • Hi Sabrina!

      Etude House Baking Powder Cleansing Foam is great if you’re looking for a cleanser that will assist you with BB cream/foundation removal. However if you’re just looking for a daily cleanser I would say go with the Innisfree one. My husband uses it and it has helped him a lot. It’s the only one he’s been repurchasing for the past 2 years. It’s great if you’re looking for something to combat oil and acne. I use the former mentioned and it’s great however I have found it to be a bit drying. I will return to answer your other question regarding emulsion and essence but in the meantime, work beckons. Hope that helps some!

  5. Hi, I wanna ask some question.. My face is combination-oily, and sometime pimples will appear during period time… The most terrible is it leave some scar.. I feel really embarrassed.. Would you recommend product that maybe suitable for me… I kinda try innisfree or nature republic but not pretty sure to use it.. I’m 19 y/old student, wanna find product that affordable.. There’s so many questions to ask… Sorry if these kind questions disturb you…

    • If you’re a student, I would recommend Innisfree for skincare products. Their products are decent and pretty affordable. Is there something specific you’re looking for?

      I might be slow to answer but if you leave a comment then I will make sure to make an effort to answer! Have a great day 🙂

Leave a Reply

