[Review] Innisfree Green Barley Clear Scrub & Cleansing Jelly Oil

Innisfree has so  many different product lines these days that I have trouble keeping up. I remember a while back when the Olive Real range was their most popular line but it seems as if it’s been replaced with the Green Teed Seed and Green Tea Deep lines these days. There are tons more that are probably just as popular (or even more), all addressing different skin concerns that I’m just not aware of.  Anyhow, this was my first time trying out the Green Barley line and it just kind of happened as the products that I was there to purchase were all sold out.

I had originally planned to repurchase the Almond Sugar Scrub but they didn’t have any in stock the day I visited. My second choice was the Volcanic Pore Clay Scrub since I’m in love with their Super Volcanic Pore Clay Mask but of course, they were out of that one too. So what did they have? Well a bunch of products that left me lingering much too long. So while I was initially disappointed, I was given the opportunity to try something I would have probably never noticed. I ended up with two products from the Jeju Green Barley line.

The Jeju Green Barley Line actually has quite a number of cleansing products. They offer them in different forms. There’s powder, mousse oil, jelly oil, cream and tons other. In short, there’s something for everybody.

greenbarley

On the top row: No Wash Cleansing Toner, Mousse Oil, Powder Wash, Powder Wash (30 packets) & Cleansing Jelly Oil. On the bottom row: Cleansing Cream, Cleansing Tissue, Bubble Cleanser, Gommage Peeling & Clear Scrub.

I was there for an exfoliator and a makeup removing cleanser so I picked the Clear Scrub and the Cleansing Jelly Oil. I got the Cleansing Jelly Oil because I wanted to try something different beside the the usual (cream & tissues). My curiosity has definitely piqued after using the Jelly Oil and I can’t wait to try out some of their other cleansers. Below I will let you in on my experiences from using both.

Green Barley Clear Scrub

Let’s start with the scrub that I got. I think it was around the third or fourth time, some of the words on the jar started to come off (as they did with my Eco Science Eye Cream) when they came in contact with my wet hands so I decided to use this image from Innisfree instead.

scrub

What Innisfree lacks in packaging they make up for it in content. The packaging from this line is simple but easy on the eyes. I’ve used scrubs from other Korean road shop brands but I’ve always found their scrubs a bit harsh on my skin. And I don’t even have sensitive skin! That’s one of the reasons why I liked the Almond Sugar Scrub so much.

Description: Enriched with green barley from pure Jeju Island, this line helps to create a clear and smooth skin by effectively removing skin impurities and dead skin cells.

scrub

Ingredients:
Water, glycerin, myristic acid, stearic acid, PEG -32, silica, potassium hydroxide, lauric acid, micro-crystalline cellulose, butylene glycol, hydrated silica, zeolite, walnut shell powder, wheat seed extract, rice extract, green tea extract, orange peel extract, orchid extract, camellia leaf extract, opuntia coccinellifera fruit extract, glyceryl stearate,disodium EDTA, ceteth-20, cetyl alcohol, steareth-20, PEG-100 stearate, PEG-75 stearate, fragrance

Just a heads up, when you purchase this product, you won’t be able to find the ingredients on the actual packaging of the product. It’s only available at innisfree.co.kr in Korean. And there’s very little English except for the description printed on the front side of the jar.

scrub2

I usually discard plastic lids as I find it a tad bit annoying to unscrew product caps and then lift another lid to get to the product. However I kept this one since I find that it keeps everything neatly in place and it’s not as flimsy as the other lids.

scrub3

The Green Barley Clear Scrub can be used as a cleanser and a scrub. However I only use this twice a week as an exfoliator. It works wonderfully and always leaves my skin feeling clean, soft and brightened. This scrub is great for those who have concerns with blackheads, whiteheads and dull skin. The beads in this scrub are not harsh on my skin and I usually use this scrub after I have cleaned my face with a foam cleanser.

scrub4

I’m usually not very picky with scents especially when it comes to skincare or makeup products but this one, I find quite difficult to like. It is a bit stronger and harder to avoid than most other products. I thought I would have gotten used to it after a few uses but I still find it quite repulsive. Maybe someone else who has used this product can chime in as well here but I find its scent similar to lemon scented laundry detergent. The good thing is, once the the scrub is washed off, the scent leaves with it.

Here’s the good:
– gives the skin an instant clean
– softens skin
– effectively removes dead skin cells leaving the skin brightened
– can also be used as a daily cleanser/makeup remover

And the bad:
– scent

While I love the Almond Sugar Scrub because it was so gentle, I think the Green Barley Clear Scrub is more effective in terms of removing dead skin cells and leaving my face soft and feeling clean. I get an instant brightening boost each time I use this.  While some people actually use this to remove their makeup or as a morning cleanser, I only use it twice a week maximum as an exfoliator.

Green Barley Cleansing Jelly Oil

I have developed a love for makeup removing cleansers.  So far my favorite type is sherbet but oil is a close second. Just out of curiosity… am I the only one who has a problem with oil cleansers running through the cracks of my fingers before it even makes it onto my face? This jelly oil has everything that I love in oil cleansers and totally demolishes the one thing that I don’t about them.

jellyoil

Goes on as a gel, comes off as an oil!

Formulated with eco-friendly and clean Jeju green barley, this cleansing gel turns into oil on contact to easily remove even heavy makeup.

When this product is squeezed out of the tube, it comes out clear and in gel form. However once it comes in contact with your skin, is smoothed out and massaged, it instantly changes to oil. It’s contained in a pretty large tube and is at the size of standard foam cleansers.

jellyoil6

This product does contain mineral oil. I guess this is really up to preference as some believe that mineral oil causes acne, premature aging, dryness of the skin and the list goes on and on but according to the Beauty Brains, it does the complete opposite. Mineral oil has been around for ages and it is used in 98% of the products in the US! Read more about the myths of mineral oil at the Beauty Brains.

Since I’ve used this jelly oil cleanser, it has not once irritated or broken me out but I know mineral oil has a bad rap. There are consumers who avoid mineral oil like the next plague and those who have absolutely no problems with it. I guess I kind of fell somewhere in between but after reading a bit more about it, I believe mineral oil is absolutely safe on our skin. There will be individuals whose skin may be more sensitive and who may react to it but in general, I believe mineral oil is a safe ingredient. There are tons of articles debunking myths regarding mineral oil and at the end of the day, people are going to believe what they want to believe. So, I say do your research, read up on it and decide for yourself.

jellyoil2

jellyoil3

You can either wipe your face clean after massaging an adequate amount over your face or wash with it water. Personally, I always follow up with a foam cleanser as I’m a fan of double-cleansing. Once is ever enough!

jellyoil5

The jelly oil formula is easy to spread. It’s a great alternative for those who like oil cleansers but hate all that extra slippage between the fingers. I usually squeeze somewhere between a dime to nickel size and massage it on my face.

jellyoil9

Clear in color, it reminds me of the serum that I photographed last week.

jellyoil8

Here I’ve swiped several different products so that you can have an idea of how effective this jelly oil cleanser is. I’ve got Innisfree Air Skin Fit BB Cream, Etude House Dear Girls Be Clear BB Cream, Tony Moly Perfect Eyes Eyeliner, Etude House Lash Perm Mascara, Peripera Peri’s Tint Marker & Milk.

As you can see, the Green Barley Jelly Oil effectively removes BB Cream and eyeliner. I had to scrub a bit to get the mascara off and the two lip tints decided they weren’t going anywhere. Great news for those who are looking for long lasting lip stains though! Since I usually use a separate lip and eye makeup remover to remove mascara, eye shadow and liner, I have no problems with this cleanser not being as effective with those items since I didn’t purchase it for the purpose anyway. 

Here’s the good:
– effectively removes face makeup
– made with Jeju green barley & green complex
– 3 Free (does NOT contain artificial colors, animal ingredients or sulfate)

And the bad:
– the scent (smells like the scrub as in lemon scented laundry detergent)

Just a word of caution to people buying these products online. I saw this Cleansing Jelly Oil advertised as mineral oil free but it’s the first ingredient that appears on the list. i have no idea why they list it as being mineral oil free other than to trick customers who are avoiding products that contain said item.

It is very likely that this range will be around for some time as they have some really neat products and is gaining some interest already from other Innisfree users. I’m already curious to try out a few of their other ones such as the Bubble foam cleanser and Gommage Peeling. Anyway, hope you found the two reviews helpful!

Have a great weekend!

3 responses to “[Review] Innisfree Green Barley Clear Scrub & Cleansing Jelly Oil

Leave a Reply

