[Review] Innisfree Mineral UV Whitening Pact SPF 50/PA+++ (No. 21 Natural Beige)

It’s been so hot here.  I sweat from doing absolutely nothing. As soon as my skin is introduced to the climate outside, the sweat starts. It’s not just humid, but absolutely and unbearably torching hot here. The weather has been toggling between two extremes and I feel like I’m at a loss with either. I’m usually beat and drenched even before I reach my classroom.  No bueno.

A lot of my students, if not all have taken summer trips with their families and returned a few shades tanner. My first outburst was of course “Who are you and why didn’t you wear sunscreen?!” I feel like bringing all of my sunscreen to work and distributing them to my students or better yet just teach a 40 minute lesson on the importance of sunscreens.

For more on the importance of wearing sunscreen, you can read one of my older reviews (Etude House Sun Prise Natural Corrector SPF42 PA++). My review today will be over Innisfree Mineral UV Whitening Pact (No. 21 Natural Beige), an alternative for those of us who simply can’t reapply sunscreen throughout the day and are looking for an alternative (and perhaps in powder form).

whiteningpact5

whiteningpact

This UV whitening pact is made with mineral powder and Jeju green tea.

Description: This UV intense powder pact helps to brighten up your dull and dark skin tone, creating a radiant complexion.

whiteningpact2

4-free (it does not contain mineral oil, acrylamide, animal ingredients, artificial fragrance)

This whitening pact is for those who can’t afford to reapply sunscreen throughout the day and by that I mean slathering actual sunscreen onto your already made face. The SPF is definitely high in this mineral powder and you’ve also got PA+++ which means greater protection from UVA rays (the ones that penetrate deeper into our skin and cause more long term damage). Although unofficial, the more plus signs a product is labelled with, the more protection it offers. This is however not something that is recognized by the FDA but rather just something you would generally find on Asian products. So it goes something like this: PA+ -> PA+++ with PA+++ being the highest.

whiteningpact3

whiteningpact6

This powder pact is equipped with a mirror and puff and is great for on the go.

whiteningpact9

The whitening pact I picked up was manufactured on June 15, 2013 and they are all good for 2 years.

whiteningpact7 whiteningpact8

Some may not be aware of this but applying sunscreen before you leave for school/work in the morning will not keep you protected all day long. The moment you step out the door and expose your skin to the sun,  your sunscreen formula will have already started to destablize and degrade. Therefore, it’s important that you reapply.

Personally, I can’t even imagine layering sunscreen over my makeup and what that would look like (or why I would do that in the first place)…therefore, mineral powders containing sunscreen are perfect for those who may share the same sentiment. What I love most about this is the convenience of having a powder pact that I can carry with me everywhere I go. Just a pat here and there and I’ve got a shield on my face again. Most people seem to be more concerned with SPF (which is great for protecting our skin from sun burns), however I would say protection against UVA rays is just as important if not more.

The active ingredients in this whitening pact are titanium dioxide, octinoxate, oil-soluble licorice extract and zinc oxide. Titanium dioxide and zinc oxide are both key ingredients in sunscreens however octinoxate seems to be unstable when exposed to the sun thus making it less absorbent of UV rays. Octinoxate seems to offer both advantages and disadvantages. Its advantages are keeping the skin younger looking, reducing wrinkles, dark spots, freckles and of course protecting our skin from UV rays however there are claims that it causes hormonal imbalance. Octinoxate degrades when paired with avobenzone but this particular mineral powder does not contain the latter. It seems like it’s one of those ingredients that is quite often disputed.

(If you’re interested in reading more about octinoxate, visit this link for more information: http://beautifulwithbrains.com/2013/05/28/spotlight-on-octinoxate/)

innisfreewhiteningpact

There are three shades available, light beige being the lightest and true beige being the darkest. I purchased natural beige.

whitening pact

The Mineral UV Whitening Pact does brighten my complexion, otherwise it appears just like any other makeup powder. The only difference is it offers my skin great UV protection. It has a slight scent that is hardly detectable unless you put it close enough to your face to take in a whiff. Just like with any other powder, you may want to be a bit light handed when you apply this to avoid it appearing cakey.

Here’s the good:
– SPF50+/PA+++
– convenient application
– comes in three shades
– contains titanium dioxide & zinc oxide
– made with Jeju green tea and mineral powder
– lasts up to two years
– 4-free (does NOT contain: mineral oil, acrylamide, animal ingredients, or artificial fragrance)
– available through most online shops that carry Innisfree products

And the bad:
– contains octinoxate (often disputed chemical agent and not photostable)

While I listed octinoxate as a con, there’s no concrete evidence on most of the claims brought up against this chemical agent. Therefore, if you have concerns regarding this ingredient, I suggest you find out more information on it just so you can make an informed purchase.

22 responses to “[Review] Innisfree Mineral UV Whitening Pact SPF 50/PA+++ (No. 21 Natural Beige)

  1. Informative review! I agree that it’s important to have a powder with a lot of SPF as well. Even if you do apply sunscreen, once you start layering more products on top of it, the SPF decreases in value so it’s always good to add some more on the topmost layer.

    Have a good week!

  2. Nice review! It’s rare to see powders coming in 3 shades! But I am always skeptical of powders containing SPF, it just doesn’t feel like it’s sticking to my skin as much as lotions. xD

  3. Thank you for the good review! I don’t understand chemical ingredients so I like to read about the people’s opinion who knows a lot about them 🙂

    • Hi Meishenme, I’m no expert myself but I do try to do a bit of research on the ingredients I’m not familiar with 🙂 Thanks for reading!

  4. Hi
    Actually I read this entry twice (at office and now at home,lol
    I really wanna try, but consider about my acne prone skin I really never dare to try compact powder ..But it is mineral ^_^ so confused
    Plz help me,lol

    • Awww, I wish I could! 😦 There’s no way of knowing unless you try it out. I have no idea if mineral powder would aggravate acne…I tried googling it but was further confused. Some say it’s not good for acne prone skin while others say it’s gentle enough to not irritate your skin…I guess it really depends on the individual.

  5. Hello, I’ve been thinking about buying a powder with spf and wanted to try this, but I’d like to know the full list of its ingredients. Could you please post it?

    • There wasn’t one on the packaging aside from the main ingredients as stated in my review. However I will give innisfree.co.kr a visit and see if the full one is available and post it.

    • Talc, Mica (CI 77019), Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Ethylhexyl Methoxycinnamate, Methyl Methacrylate Crosspolymer, Silica, Nylon-12, Zinc Oxide (CI 77947), Trimethylolpropane Triethylhexanoate, Phenyl Trimethicone, Oil Soluble Licorice(Glycyrrhiza) Extract, Mineral Salts, Oryza Sativa (Rice) Powder, Aloe Vera Leaf Extract, Coconut Oil, Green Tea Extract, Orange Peel Extract, Orchid extract, Camellia Leaf Extract, Opuntia Coccinellifera Fruit Extract, Magnesium Myristate, Ethylene/Acrylic Acid Copolymer, HDI/Trimethylol Hexyllactone Crosspolymer, Methicone, Ethylhexylglycerin, Dimethicone, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Glyceryl Caprylate, Hydroxyapatite,Water, Butylene Glycol, Fragrance, Yellow Iron Oxide (CI 77492), Red Iron Oxide (CI 77491), Black Iron Oxide (CI 77499)

    • In my experience, it doesn’t control oil that well. I usually use it to touch up while I’m at work or out…you’ll get medium coverage.

  6. Please Honey, HELP ME.
    I want buy, but I don’t know which shade, i’m between 13 or 23, my skin is NW 20 MAC, a lightly yellow, the shade 23 will stay a little dark?
    XO

  7. Fixing:
    I want buy, but I don’t know which shade, i’m between 13 or 21, my skin is NW 20 MAC, a lightly yellow, the shade 21 will stay a little dark?
    XO

    • Hi Melissa,
      I’m not familiar with MAC shades…I’m afraid I won’t be able to help you much. Do you use other Innisfree products? Or perhaps other Korean BB creams? If you give me the shades you use for those products, I might be able to gauge which shade would be more fitting for you…

      • Hi Honey
        I am the color of actress Sandra Bulock, a light beige ……. not very clear.
        TKS

  8. Hi,
    Is the shade #13 darker than Missha Perfect Cover #13 or Mizon Snail BB? Innisfree Mineral Sun Waterproof BB 01 is so and so for me shadewise.

    • Sorry I have no clue because I don’t have either of the BB creams you mentioned and I only have #21 of this whitening pact in my possession.

  9. Thank you for the vey detailed review. Especially on the ingredients which would otherwise be merely Latin words to a non latin speaker. I just bought the true beige one and have yet to try it. I live in a humid country so i hope this turns out to be a good buy!

  10. Hi, i have an issue retouching powder because our environment is dusty, im afraid that the bacteria on my face would transfer to my powder thus making my powder infested with bacteria and break me out. What shall i do? I want to retouch for sunscreen and oil control, but im also afraid of having irritated skin because of bacteria buildup on my face and powder

    • The only way avoid that is to start with a brand new canvas each time, which would be to wash your face entirely with a cleanser to avoid skin irritation and breakout. But of course, if you’re out and about, that would be almost impossible. If your skin is not as sensitive, then I would just blot it and then apply sunscreen or powder. Your inquiry is a toughie! Wish I knew of a way to help you besides telling you the obvious.

Leave a Reply

