[Review] Etude House Goodbye Pore Ever Pore Primer Essence

Well here it is, my third and final primer to review. Since I’ve talked about the use and benefits of primers in the previous two reviews, I expect this one to be rather short.

A lot of the Etude House products that I’ve got really do contribute to the overall prettiness of the products on my dresser. While I like the other brands that I use too, I’m going to have to say, they don’t do that much in terms of prettiness. But of course, it’s what’s on the inside that counts the most. And to contradict that, I got this because of it’s pretty packaging. While it’s been taking a backseat to my other primers, I’ve started to wear it again.

Like the Wonder Pore Freshner (also by Etude House), this one seems to have tons of reviews online. However, there are mostly mixed reviews ranging from complete disappointment to HG finds. For me, it’s somewhere in between those two extremes.

poreprimer2

Hello pretty packaging.

Moisturizing makeup primer masks pores to subdue sebum and improve makeup coverage.

poreprimer

It does contain dimethicone so if that’s something you are trying to stay clear of, you might want to avoid this primer.

poreprimer4

Expiration date.

poreprimer3

The size is quite big considering the amount that I use daily on my skin. I think most will use anywhere from less than a pea size to an actual pea size. Anymore than that could result in your makeup appearing very cakey.

poreprimer5

The Goodbye Pore Ever Pore Primer Essence is great in terms of creating that perfect canvas and priming the skin for makeup. While I don’t enjoy the instant feel of this product, it evens out my makeup in ways that the other two primers don’t. With The Face Shop Face It Velvet Skin Primer (why are these names so long?), my skin is usually left with a very silky feel. It almost feels like my makeup will slip right off. Okay, so that probably wasn’t the best example but it’s that silky to the touch.  Innisfree No Sebum Mineral Primer also gives a very similar feel albeit a little less silky but still very soft.  So while the finish is a bit different, this primer is just as effective if not even better.

So in short, the Pore Primer Essence is different in that it leaves a less silky surface yet my makeup clings on in a way that just works. If you can’t detect that I’m having difficulty describing my thoughts, I am, majorly.

My makeup glides on with this primer and it really does last throughout the day. I usually apply less than a pea size amount onto my face. I cover the areas that produce the most sebum which are my T-zone, cheeks and nose.

poreprimer6

It’s milky and creamy but easy to spread.

The oil control on this one is just decent for me. I still blot throughout the day but I don’t find the shine anywhere near as bad as the one from the Face It Velvet Skin Primer.  While others have mentioned this product’s scent, I don’t think it’s that prominent. I barely smell it at all. So while there is a scent, it usually disappears within moments of application.

I think people with dry skin might benefit from the use of this primer as it has a nice dewy finish and does a pretty decent job priming the face for BB cream. Since I don’t wear foundation, I have no idea how it would look on top of this. Oily skin individuals might not love this primer for it’s sebum controlling properties but I do like the way it evens out my makeup.

poreprimer

The primer does leave a dewy finish.

Here’s the good:
– primes skin for makeup
– makeup lasts longer
– evens out makeup

And the bad:
– does not dramatically reduce the appearance of pores
– oil control is just decent

Cost wise, I think it’s appropriate for its size. Once again, you don’t need a whole lot when it comes to primers. I usually use less than a pea size for my entire face. Keep in mind that if you apply too much, your makeup could appear cakey. And although I’ve mentioned this in my other reviews, when it comes to primers, don’t be lazy. Be sure to wash your face with good cleanser, double-cleanse if you can because if primers are not properly removed, your skin will break out.

Like always, please keep in mind that what performs exceptionally well on me may not do the same for you and vice versa. If you’re using this primer, please leave a comment below and share your experience! 🙂

5 responses to “[Review] Etude House Goodbye Pore Ever Pore Primer Essence

  1. Thanks for this awesome, detailed review! I just found your blog, and I love that you’re reviewing a ton of Korean products. I live in the US, so this site will be bookmarked for reference! Thanks again 🙂

  2. Thank you for the reviews comparing the three primers! It was definitely helpful, since I was debating between getting the Innisfree or Etude House to try. Looks like it would be the Etude House for me 🙂

    • Aww no problem! I’m glad my reviews helped you decide which primer to try. Let me know how you like it 🙂

Leave a Reply

