Simple Joys of Life

I’m spent from all the skincare and makeup reviews so today will be a picture post comprised of some of the students I teach, some of the stuff I’ve eaten and my two lovely kids.

The joys of being an English teacher in Korea. There are tons of moments like these. If you’re a teacher like me, have your camera close because these moments are really picture worthy and precious. Kids grow up so fast, one minute they are under your chin and you’ve got to kneel down to talk to them at eye level. Then the next, you have to hurt your neck just to meet their eyes. Oh wait, that’s just me. I’m just very short.

001

Boys being boys.

799

Riot.

016

KTX (Kate), Tomato (Thomas), Grapes (Grace), Jellybean (Shelly), Sundae (Sunny), Jack (Jack). My kids and their alter egos.

057

And others that are more calm and controlled.075

077

744

The joys of living in Korea. Good eats!

766

Nothing visually spectacular here but I bet you wouldn’t be able to say no to seconds after trying these out. This restaurant serves some of the best tasting side dishes.

767

Not something I want to eat during the summer since it only encourages more sweat. I’ve already got enough to deal with. I’ve been here more than six years and I still prefer cold food in the summer.

034

I’m starting to see more School Foods around Korea. If there’s one near you, try it out. Simple yet tasty.

041

Also from School Food.

006

Shaved ice with red beans or otherwise known as Patbingsoo (팥빙수). This one was from Basket Robbins and it was delicious. You can get patbingsoo with different toppings depending on where you go.

The joys of being a mommy to two lovely creatures.

DSC06565

The best part of waking up.

028

And the best part of coming home.

8 responses to “Simple Joys of Life

  1. Great pictures! I love my students at the hakwon where I teach. I’ve been doing this for four years and have never regretted it! I look forward to seeing their smiling faces each day! 😀

    • Hi! Thanks for coming by and leaving a comment. It’s always nice to hear from other English teachers. Where in Korea do you teach?

  2. I’m loving these pictures! I am very interested in going to Korea for a couple of years after I graduate to teach English. How is it being a teacher in Korea?

    • I think the overall experience really varies depending on a number of things. For example, it really depends on what your personality is like, how adaptable you are, the city and school where you end up teaching at, your co-workers, etc. If you take the public school route (which I think is the safer route), then I think you’ll have a bit more stability. If you take the private academy route, I would say, do your research. Most foreigners who have taught at hakwons have a strong dislike for them but I wouldn’t say they’re all bad. It’s just hard to find a good one. But then again, not all public schools are great either. I’ve been very lucky. I’ve taught at 2 different public schools and both have been great to me.

    • Aww thank you! The dessert was really to die for. My mouth waters every time I see that picture XD

Leave a Reply

