[Review] Peripera Peri’s Tints Water (No. 1 Cherry & No. 3 Orange Juice)

After discovering these bad boys, I never want to go back to lipsticks. The saddest thing is I just bought a lipstick from Holika Holika that I may never touch. I was actually going to pick up my first lip tint at Tony Moly but I decided to go for Peripera as it’s a brand I hadn’t heard of, yet there was abundant information about their lip tints online.

I’m pretty new to lip tints/stains in general so I’m still learning about them but I’ve already assembled a list of things I like about them that I never liked about lipsticks. They are lightweight, long-lasting, and natural looking. I don’t have to worry about smears, smudges or touch-ups.

Description: Like juice, this water tint spreads upon lips with vivid colors. With a single touch perfectly dewy colors give an elegant look. Fruit Complex help give vitality to the lips.

SONY DSC

Peripera wins for cute packaging.

SONY DSC

No. 3 Orange Juice and No. 1 Cherry Juice

SONY DSC

I felt daring so I got Orange Juice. To be honest, I’ve never worn any shade of orange on my face.

SONY DSC

This tint water comes in a small glass bottle with a doe foot applicator. You might want to keep this separate from your nail polish just to avoid confusion.

SONY DSC

No. 1 Cherry Juice

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

The water tints are runny and have a tendency to trickle.

SONY DSC

Orange Juice and Cherry Juice blended out.

Some people have really pretty lips, I just have lips. It was all sorts of awkward to take these pictures of my lips but I figured some might be curious how the color application actually looks. Remember though the color may vary a bit depending on the natural color of your lips.

lips

Bare lips (left), Cherry Juice (center) & Orange Juice (right)

I think lip tints look the best when you dab just a few dots on the inner part of your lips and just blend it out with your middle or ring finger. Once it blends, it’s quite natural looking and pretty. You can either use a lip balm before or after (or both) to soften the look of your lips. You really don’t want this water tint just settling into the cracks of your already dried lips!

Honestly, I wasn’t expecting to like Orange Juice at all since I’ve never tried anything orange (in terms of makeup), but I have to say, I like it a bit more than Cherry Juice. Peripera Peri’s tints water are available in 5 different colors: No. 1 Cherry Juice, No. 2 Pink Juice, No. 3 Orange Juice, No. 4 Mandarin Juice, and No. 5 Candy Juice. I don’t think I’ll be purchasing the other three any time soon since I’ve got a lot of lip tints on my hands right now.

So in summary I’m already won over. I love the natural look and it’s work appropriate as well. I was really looking for something that wouldn’t stand out too much and this is it! However with the good comes the bad. It does have a tendency to dry out my lips after a few hours. I counter that with a lip balm which I don’t mind at all. The color stays on for a good 5-6 hours and if you find that it wears off throughout the day, a dab or two of it would easily give you that natural look again.

Apparently I’ve read a lot about this tint tasting awful however I haven’t had that pleasure of grossing myself out yet. On the other hand, I think it smells pretty good, I’m not going to taste it though, not even for review purposes.

Here’s the good:
– natural & long lasting colors
– comes in 5 shades
– build-able
– cute packaging
– affordable (available for much cheaper on Gmarket)
– lightweight

And the bad:
– drying
– glass bottle (may make it not so travel friendly for some)
– possible bleeding over the edges of your lips (don’t apply too much of it at once)
– settles into the crack of your lips

Like I said, I was kind of weary about picking up No. 3 Orange Juice but I’m so glad I did because I actually like it a lot! For those of you who are worried about the tint looking too orange, don’t worry, it won’t come off as a vivid orange at all. It’s quite natural and pretty.

Jelly, marker and crayon tints will be reviewed soon so keep an eye out for those reviews! Have a great weekend!

3 responses to “[Review] Peripera Peri’s Tints Water (No. 1 Cherry & No. 3 Orange Juice)

  1. Awesome review! Looks great on you too, especially the orange juice. I love lip tints much more than lip sticks, because I just feel they look more natural, and feels lighter too. 😀

    • Thanks, Chee! I totally agree, I’m really loving the light-weight feeling and natural look!

Leave a Reply

