[Review] Etude House Silk Scarf Hair Moistpack

Let’s talk hair. My hair is dry and brittle. I tend to get static easily and it’s a pain looking at it when I get up first thing in the morning. The sad thing is I used to be able to brag about my hair when I was younger. I was one of those girls with strong thick black hair. Every time I got my hair cut, whether it was by my mom or a hairdresser, I was always told I had too much hair. Sadly, I always took those words for granted because I remember being annoyed by the volume of hair I had. I purposely got it layered because I had THAT much hair.

I constantly reminisce and regret not loving it more then. I should have cherished you, hair. I have less of it now and it’s become stubborn and difficult to deal with. I’m not sure if it’s a result of me dyeing it too much although I read that dyeing one’s hair doesn’t necessary cause for it to fall out and end up clogging your bathroom drain. I dyed and permed my hair once in 명동 (Myeongdong) and it’s never been the same since. It has only gotten worse. Since then I’ve only tried to use shampoos that are SLS and paraben free. I’ve made it priority to only use shampoo that are free of harsh chemicals. I make that extra effort to make things right with my hair. I actually get my shampoo from iherb.com because I haven’t had much luck with any of the Korean brands that I’ve tried.

Anyway, I picked up this moist pack out of curiosity after I saw it at another blogger’s page. I figured it would give me some hope at taming and nourishing my stubborn hair.

Description: Specially formulated with oil complex and floral scent, this intensively restorative hair pack deeply nourishes, strengthens, and rejuvenates very dry and damaged hair to minimize breakage while maximizing shine, silkiness, and manageability.

Directions:Use once or twice a week. Massage into hair and comb through evenly with fingers. Let treatment work for 5 minutes and rinse thoroughly.

Sounds like it was made to personally address all of my hair issues!

Don’t you just love Etude House for their cute packaging? The moist pack is one of the many items from Etude House Silk Scarf line. The others are: Damage Hair Ampule, Moist Hair Mist, Hologram Hair Serum, Repair Hair Essence and Hair Treatement.

This hair moist pack is formulated with a number of different oils including Camellia, Argan, Sunflower Seed and Macademia Seed.

silk scarf 2

When you purchase this product, there’s a plastic lid that separates the actual contents from the tub lid itself, the usual standard stuff.

silk hair 3

The consistency is like that of conditioner, albeit a bit thinner. A little goes a long way.

While I like the Silk Scarf Hair Moistpack, I think I prefer Skinfood Argan Oil Silk Hair Mask Pack. I will talk more about the Argan Oil Silk Hair Mask Pack in a later review.

This moist pack leaves my hair pretty soft. I’ve used it for about a month now but I haven’t noticed much difference in shine or silkiness. There is a fruity floral scent but it doesn’t stick around for long. The scent is usually gone by the following day, which is a shame because I actually like it a lot. On the other hand, this might be good news to those who are not fans of floral scents.

I’m pretty satisfied with the moist pack however I don’t really like sticking my fingers into the tub to transfer the product onto my hair. You know, the whole double dipping and cross contaminating thing. Some people don’t mind it much but I find it bothersome.

Another thing, this product contains dimethicone. Here’s a bit about dimethicone if you’re unfamiliar with it.

In hair care products, dimethicone is used to provide smoothness, particularly in conditioners and detanglers, where the ingredient helps smooth hair and provide better comb-through. Because dimethicone leaves a sort of covering on the hair strands, it can also make hair appear shinier.

(to read more from the source, click here)

However since dimethicone is water insoluble, it’s difficult to remove it without a sulfate shampoo. Build up of dimethicone causes your hair to feel weighed down.

Here’s the good:
– fruity floral scent
– a little goes a long way
– hair feels soft
– 8,000 won (around $8)

And the bad:
– scent is short lasting
– no scoop to aid with product transfer
– contains dimethicone

The boyfriend is watching the Brazil World Cup Preliminaries (Korea VS. Iran) and all I hear are sighs. Must be a disappointing game, time to go find out!

Leave a Reply

