[Review] Etude House Dual Show Volume Mascara

When I buy mascaras, I look for something that gives my lashes more volume and definition. I look for ones that are waterproof, anti-smudge and anti-smear. Additionally, I look for mascaras that don’t weigh down my lashes. I have tried some formulas that literally made my lashes fall out. The horror of seeing my precious lashes after removing my mascara at the end of the day…

Honestly, my mascara woes and I have been coexisting for some time now. Even the waterproof ones aren’t so waterproof on me. They smudge, smear, flake, you name it, it’s happened. My boyfriend has witnessed a lot of mascara mishaps as well. But that’s for another post. Today I’ll be reviewing one of the mascaras I picked up at Etude House some weeks ago.

Please note that this particular one is the Dual Show Volume Mascara and not the Dual Show Long Lash Mascara. Both are double ended but they differ a bit.

Etude House Dual Show Volume Mascara

Etude House Dual Show Volume Mascara

One end is for your top lashes and other end is for your bottom lashes.

One end is for your top lashes and other end is for your bottom lashes.

The wand for your top lashes

The wand for your top lashes

Etude House Dual Show Volume Mascara

The wand for your bottom lashes

The wand for your bottom lashes

As you can see it does lengthen and give my lashes a fuller look (to some extent). You can triple or quadruple coat.

The mascara is quite good at coating and separating my individual lashes but as for giving it volume? Not so much.  I like the smaller wand as it works well to deposit mascara onto my bottom lashes. Standard mascaras are made for your upper lashes so sometimes using the same wand to apply mascara to your bottom lashes can be a task. The excess product can end up smudging or smearing and giving you the notorious “panda” look at the end of the day. I have had plenty of mascara malfunctioning experiences.

Here’s the good:
– lengthens and separates lashes

And the bad:
– difficult to remove
– smudges
– expensive at 16,000 won
– messy application (I get flecks of it all around my eyes)

While the lower lash wand is a big plus for me, I find this formula to be drying and difficult to remove. So my mascara search continues!

Leave a Reply

