[Review] Skinfood Red Orange Makeup Finish (Matte Type)

Two ceiling fans were installed in my classroom the other day. I don’t know if it’s something I should be thrilled about or something I should mope about. Is that the school’s way of telling me and my students to not look forward to getting any AC this year during the tortuous steaming summer? Please say it isn’t so.

Anyway, I’ve been contemplating which product to review for the past couple days. I’ve got three primers that I’ve been testing out however I think I need more time to write a more accurate review for each. So today I will be reviewing my Red Orange Makeup Finish (Matte Type) by Skinfood.

Skinfood Red Orange Makeup Finish (Matte Type) 

Product description: An orange extract-infused makeup finish with oil controlling powder hat controls excessive sebum production.

Instructions: After shaking it well before use, spray evenly on your face from about 1 feet away. Spray after makeup, it helps the makeup last long.

I don’t think this makeup finish leaves me matte at all day but it does a fine job of keeping my makeup on my face. I usually apply makeup around 9am and take it off around 8pm-9pm. So that’s about 11-12 hours, give or take. I would have to say that a significant amount of makeup stays on me throughout those hours. The eyeliner and eye shadow of course appears lighter and moles and scars look more noticeable but it’s still very obvious that I have makeup on.

If you’re worried about the citrus scent, the good news is it’s not overpowering nor does it last very long. Another thing, there’s a large concentration of alcohol in this product. If your skin is easily irritated by alcohol or you simply want to steer away from products containing it, you might want to check the glossy finish instead. Since the matte type is intended for those with oily/combination skin, it can be drying on some. On me, not so much. My sebum always wins.

Honestly, I’m still on the fence about this makeup finish. While I like it for a couple of reasons, I don’t think it’s a great product that I will look forward to repurchasing. It’s not something I’m going to rave about to my family and friends.  Which is sad because I really wanted to like this one. I use it daily but it’s not great with oil control but it does a pretty fine job of holding my makeup in place.

There are other items from the Red Orange Sun Base line that I’d really like to try such as their Red Orange Jelly BB and Red Orange Sun Pact. I’m very keen to get my hands on the Jelly BB. I don’t know if it rivals Holika Holika Aqua Petit Jelly but those are the only two Jelly type BB creams that I’ve read about.

So, here’s the good:
– scent (again, this can easily be off-putting to those with sensitive noses)
– makeup stays on longer
– not too tall or bulky, great as a travel size

And the bad:
– does not control my sebum production
– contains alcohol (can be drying on some)
– 8,000 won (roughly $8)

On a different note, has anyone seen “Man of Steel”? After posting this, I will be heading to the movies to watch it! So excited. Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

