[Review] Tony Moly Luminous Goddess Aura BB Cream

A number of things led me to purchase this BB cream along with a bunch of others (Innisfree Air Skin Fit BB Cream, Skin 79 Hot Pink Super Plus Beblesh Balm, and Etude House Precious Mineral BB Cream Bright Fit). It was around some time last year when a trip to IOPE left me in devastation when I was told that IOPE BB Skin Complete had been replaced and no longer in production. The store clerk had offered me a newer BB Cream but I was doubtful so I picked up my final tube and tried to take in the bad news. I had been using my BB cream sparingly since.

I never knew BB creams were sold for so cheap since I had always paid like quadruple for IOPE BB Skin Complete. Have I been living under a rock? Seriously,  BB Cream for 10,000 won? Well this one was purchased for 10,400 won (got it with a discount). Now that I’ve had a chance to try out other BB creams, I feel like my BB cream should have been discontinued much earlier! No, I take that back. IOPE BB Skin Complete was good to me all those years.

So onto, Tony Moly Luminous Goddess Aura BB Cream. There’s some English on the box, mostly the description and instructions on how to use this particular BB cream. I’ll type it out below so you can read for yourself since the picture I took didn’t come out too well (I’m thumbing impatiently waiting for my macro lens to arrive so I can take better quality pictures) and the box has been tossed (lesson noted).

Although it looks small in the photo, there’s actually a lot of product in that tube!

Description:
The self-luminous BB Cream moisturizes the skin and maximizes the radiance of the skin.
– Customized for your skin! Provide moisture and radiance to your skin.
– Blemishes Cover! Provides firmmess, smoothness, and radiance to your skin.
– Faithfully delivers the function of BB cream.

Directions:
Mix Goddess Aura Beam and BB Cream at a ratio of 1:2 and apply the mixture to the entire face in a gentle tapping motion. If you are only using BB cream, apply an appropriate amount to the entire face, and gently pat your skin.

So pretty self-explanatory. I purchased this without Goddess Aura Beam but I find that it yields pretty good results without it.

It’s got SPF 37, pretty decent, I’d say!

Simply twist the cap to open it.

It dispenses through a nozzle like most BB creams. I have seen some bloggers complain about the way this product dispenses as it can become messy but mine is still pretty clean. I guess I’ll just have to put more effort into keeping it clean.

These were taken in direct sunlight. I manage to take these photos right before my camera battery decided it wouldn’t have any more of me. If you’re wondering about this BB cream’s coverage, please refer to the first photo, as you can see I have a mole on my right hand, if you look down at the third photo, it’s barely peeking through. I’d say it provides medium coverage but buildable.

Here’s the good:
– affordable (and widely available)
– easy to blend
– good coverage, buildable for those who desire more overage
– SPF37
– moisturizing

And the bad:
– comes in a single shade
– oil control good for a few hours at best

This is definitely one of the BB creams I’m glad I tried out because I do feel like a goddess, albeit an oily one after a few hours. I had initially thought of buying the Goddess Aura Beam just to see how different it would be but after reading a few reviews I decided, I’m “glowy” enough without additional help so I think I’ll pass on it.

I’m currently trying out the other BB creams but I always find myself reaching for this one. I like the shade and I feel like it’s neither too dark or light on me. Sorry I can’t really provide you with a reference, I have no idea what my skintone is. When I read other blogs, people are always like I’m NC25 or NC15…and I’m like “Where do they get these numbers from?!” =)

Tony Moly Luminous Goddess Aura BB Cream is quickly becoming one of my favorites and I don’t know when I’ll be able to review all the other BB creams since I literally can’t keep my hands off this one.

7 responses to “[Review] Tony Moly Luminous Goddess Aura BB Cream

  1. Hi there! A fellow EFL teacher and cosmetic lover in Korea here! I really like reading your product reviews. Just thought I would fill you in on those NC25 or NW15 numbers. They are usually referring to M.A.C foundation/concealers numbers. (its a super popular Canadian brand that many people swear by) Its just a reference point for how make up looks on different skin tones/ skin undertones.

    Can’t wait to read more of your reviews!

    • Yay! A fellow teacher! Where in Korea do you teach?

      I had no idea MAC was Canadian! I thought it was American. I’ve tried out some of their makeup products and even one brush (I had read so many reviews on it) and you know what? I wasn’t impressed at all.

      But yeah, thanks for coming by, reading and commenting! It means a lot to me! =)

      • I teach in Ulsan. Its great to be close to the Busan beaches this summer!

        Wow I’ve never read of anyone being disappointed with MAC! I’ve actually never tried anything other than foundation and concealer. They are one of the few brands that carry foundation shades dark enough for me (I’m African American). I will sadly never get a BB cream in Korea, but there are so many other things to try too!

  2. My boyfriend is from Ulsan. I always clown on him for being from the “country” just to annoy him but I’ve been there once and from what I was able to see, it’s a pretty nice place to live. What grade do you teach and how long have you been in Korea, if you don’t mind my asking…sorry, I get really curious when I meet other teachers, whether it’s online or in person 🙂

    I don’t think I know anyone who doesn’t like MAC either now that I think about it. I got started on makeup much later than most people I know so I just tried out whatever people recommended since I didn’t really know where to start. If I had known better, I would have saved my money for something…cheaper. But I have to agree with you on their makeup range. There’s something for everybody.

    Yeah, sadly there aren’t too many shades with Korean BB Creams. But who knows, they might make more in the near future! 🙂

    • Hi Cindy! Thanks for coming by and reading! I have to visit your site with great caution since you have so many pictures of food that I would scarf down within seconds!

Leave a Reply

