[Review] Innisfree Almond Sugar Scrub

I love almonds. I get full on them alone and actually find them more delicious unsalted. I used to love pistachios best but I think almonds have finally won me over and taken first place.  Good thing they are nutritious, great for our skin and even aid in weight loss!  Actually the benefits of almonds are plentiful but I’ve already talked enough in my last post about sunscreen so I’ll just skip right to the product review!

I got the Almond Sugar Scrub from Innisfree some time last year. I grabbed it along with their Jeju Sudachi Soothing Mask. Don’t quote me but I think it was 10,000 won (about $10). The boyfriend was there to buy some moisturizer and I was just tagging along when it  caught my attention. The sad thing is I’ve had this scrub for a good 7 or 8 months without realizing its true worth.  I had been exfoliating regularly with Missha Black Sugar Scrub and totally overlooking this little jar of goodness. I alternated between the two and am now nearly 95% through the jar.

Innisfree Almond Sugar Scrub & Jeju Sudachi Soothing Mask

This is a bit embarrassing to admit as well but I basically massaged my face with a small amount of the scrub for like 30 seconds at most, let it sit while I washed and rinsed my hair. I then just proceeded to wash it off. Seriously, it’s a scrub Angela. You’re supposed to massage the product over your face after cleansing for 2-3 minutes and then rinse. It is recommended that you use this 1-2 times a week.

Product description: This hypoallergenic scrub exfoliates unnecessary dead skin cells with almond and sugar.

The packaging is quite cute even though it's not bright and vibrant like other products say by Etude House or Tony Moly. Reminds me of baby food jars.

The packaging is quite cute even though it’s not bright and vibrant like other products say by Etude House or Tony Moly. Reminds me of baby food jars.

The jar itself is quite small.

The jar itself is quite small.

Here's the back of the jar. It tells you to massage at least 2-3 minutes and then to rinse.

Here’s the back of the jar. It tells you to massage at least 2-3 minutes and then to rinse.

Creamy in texture with almond bits. Incredibly gentle compared to most of the exfoliators I've tried.

Creamy in texture with almond bits. Incredibly gentle compared to most of the exfoliators I’ve tried.

Here’s the good:
–       extremely gentle for a scrub
–       almond scent (this could be off putting to some but I’m an almond lover)
–       leaves skin feeling clean, soft and supple

And the bad:
–       may not be as strong of a scrub for some
–       the scent (easily be a pro or con)
–       heavy on the wallet (10,000 won, approximately $10 for 100ml)
–       contains methylparaben

I really like this scrub however I do have problems with it having methyparaben as I have been trying to find products without them. Halfway through writing this review, I really did believe that it contained only natural ingredients but then I did a quick search on the list of ingredients and I came upon a picture that another blogger posted and there it was, like a dagger to the heart: methyparaben. The strange thing is most online shops have listed this product as a paraben free one. Since I’m currently residing in Korea, I don’t need to buy this item from online shops. Innisfree is just a walk away but it’s misleading for those who have to resort to ordering online. I’ve already emailed someone for answers so once they reply (if they ever), I’ll definitely share it here.

I was almost ready to make a strong declaration of love for this until I saw the ingredient list. Honestly, I still like it but I’m really not sure if I want to repurchase it knowing that it contains paraben. Sugar scrubs in general are too rough on my skin. I’ve gone through ones by Skin Food and Missha and I used them because I had to exfoliate but I never loved the experience. The Almond Sugar Scrub is gentle enough to lift and remove my dead skin cells and leave it feeling clean, soft and supple all at the same time. It’s a dilemma.

And…I thought most people exfoliated but apparently I personally know people who don’t. What are the benefits of exfoliating you might ask. Read the following benefits of skin exfoliation:

– to remove dead skin cells, grease and impurities from the surface of the skin….
– allowing fresh new cells to be exposed, therefore improving the appearance of the skin.
– skin preparations after exfoliating such as moisturizers, mask products penetrate easier into the skin.
– the blood circulation increases, bringing more oxygen and nutrients to the skin cells, therefore improving the skin colour.
– hyperpigmentation improves as the pigmented surface skin cells is removed.

Source: Exfoliation: Everything You Need To Know

6 responses to “[Review] Innisfree Almond Sugar Scrub

  1. Hello Ms. Angela!
    I was wondering how long does it take before I tossed the product in the bin? I just opened the jar recently but I know that I can’t finished it up for 6 months.
    Hope you get back to me soon 🙂

    • Hi! The expiration date for this product is printed on the box so if you still have it, you should be able to find something in small print like “6M” or “12M”. If it says “6M” then it means 6 months after you open the product. If it says “12M” then it means a year after you have opened the product.

  2. Hi, I know this is an old post but I was just wondering if you’ve ever tried the skin79 honey sugar scrub and how it compares to the innisfree almond sugar scrub?

Leave a Reply

