Namwon in a day

남원 여행

After a long and tough week of work for the both of us, we decided to take a trip by train to the “City of Love” to loosen up. My other half booked us train tickets to Namwon in Jeolla-do. I’ve visited numerous cities in Korea but I’ve never been to Jeolla Province. It was my first time so I was super excited to see what Namwon had to offer. It’s quite famous in Korea but some of you may wonder why it’s called the “City of Love”. Well, this is where some serious love was put to the test. It’s home to the story of Sung Chunhyang and Lee Myongryong. It’s late and I’m deathly tired from 7+ hours of riding the train with screaming babies, loud women and sticky sweat so if this post sounds awkward or awkwardly cheesy, please forgive me! Another thing, this post is picture heavy so please be patient with all the picture loading!

chunhyang

I will briefly write about the story of Chunhyang for those who may not be familiar with it. Sung Chunhyang was the daughter of a gisaeng (a female entertainer) and Lee Myongryong was the son of a government official. They met and fell in love at fist sight. I actually asked my Korean man if it’s a true story or just a folktale and he said both. So your guess is just as good as mine. Anyway, their love was put to the test when Myongryong left to Seoul after they were secretly married and she was approached by a corrupt magistrate (a show of hands if you’ve seen “Delightful Girl ChunHyang”). He imprisoned her when she refused his advances and then her hubby returned and rescued her and they lived happily ever after. That’s the story in a nutshell. I’m sure there’s more information online if you’re interested in reading about it. You can think of it as the Korean version of Romeo and Juliet.

Waiting for our train.

Waiting for our train.

We left around 9 in the morning and reached out destination at noon. Here are some pictures of us on the train.

Namwon

We decided to have minikimbap and triangle kimbap for breakfast. We tried to keep ourselves light to fill our bellies in Namwon!

We decided to have minikimbap and triangle kimbap for breakfast. We tried to keep ourselves light to fill our bellies in Namwon!

Bye bye train.

Bye bye train.

We made it! All was good until we wondered "Where is everyone?"

We made it! All was good until we wondered “Where is everyone?”

Namwon Station

Namwon Station

So after reaching Namwon, we immediately caught a cab to a restaurant that my boyfriend had in mind after perusing a bunch of reviews online. We must have been in luck because we had a pretty funny taxi driver who was more like an aspiring actor. He even gave my boyfriend a quiz about the history of Chunhyang. The boyfriend ended up getting 90 points from him, I don’t know why he deducted 10 points lol. He put my boyfriend on the spot and asked him questions that he himself didn’t know the answer to. The ride was short but boy did he talk the entire way. He dropped us off right in front of the restaurant where we were both in awe of the structure and interior.

restaurant

식당 (청학동)

SONY DSC

식당 (청학동)

식당 (청학동)

sidedishes

sidedishes

DSCF4516

DSCF4518

청학동

청학동

청학동

청학동

청학동

I'm a big fan of raw salmon but when it comes to eating other kinds of fish, I'm quite lazy. I ended up passing this to my boyfriend after picking at it for a while. He told me he would blog about how I gave him the fish in this condition. lol

I’m a big fan of raw salmon but when it comes to eating other kinds of fish, I’m quite lazy. I ended up passing this to my boyfriend after picking at it for a while. He told me he would blog about how I gave him the fish in this condition. lol

청학동

DSCF4521

식당 (청학동)
Lunch was superb.

If you’re in Korea or are coming to Korea and you happen to be in this area, try out this restaurant. It’s called Chung Hak Dong. We had course A but there’s tons of other food that would satisfy your tummy. Nothing tasted greasy or unhealthy and the service was good. Two big thumbs up! After lunch, we headed to Gwanghalluwon Garden, where Chunhyang and Myongryong first met. We were immediately disappointed with this…

Chunhyang & Myongryong

Couldn’t they have made them more similar in size? The garden itself was beautiful and it was actually quite large so it made for a good walk. The only problem was the weather was very punishing, it was so hot and while it wasn’t as hot as the time we had visited Seoul last summer, it was still hot enough to tire us out. We walked around, walked up to a few of the pavilions there, fed carp and took like several dozen pictures before heading to Chunhyang Theme Park.

garden

DSCF4574

DSCF4569

Gwanghalluwon Garden

Gwanghalluwon Garden

Gwanghalluwon Garden

Gwanghalluwon Garden

Gwanghalluwon Garden

Gwanghalluwon Garden

I felt like laying down like these people too. It was insanely humid and hot!

I felt like laying down like these people too. It was insanely humid and hot!

If you’re interested in reading more about Gwanghalluwon Garden, follow this link Gwanghalluwon Garden.

While the garden was pretty nice, the theme park left more to be desired. I was looking forward to visiting the film set that I had heard about it but that part of the park was inaccessible. The park was pretty empty and most of their sights were under reconstruction. I don’t think we saw anything there that was memorable. It was just a giant empty space.

SONY DSC
My boyfriend said he believes he was born of royalty in his past life. LMAO.

SONY DSC
Feeling empowered in the chair.

SONY DSC
Ordering me around.

Chunhyang Theme Park

Chunhyang Theme Park

Chunhyang Theme Park

Here he bids the man adieu as we make haste to leave the empty park.

Here he bids the man adieu as we make haste to leave the empty park.

Thanks for having us but it’s time to leave.

Thanks for having us but it’s time to leave.

We needed a break from the humidity and heat so we went to Paris Baguette for some patbingsoo (a desert made of shaved ice, red bean & fruits, these days there are all sorts of toppings that are available)

We needed a break from the humidity and heat so we went to Paris Baguette for some patbingsoo (a desert made of shaved ice, red bean & fruits, these days there are all sorts of toppings that are available)

We were both surprised at how deserted their downtown was. It was Saturday afternoon but most of the shops were empty and there were hardly any cars endangering our lives or people shoving us (guess I’m so used to Suwon that this came as a surprise). Since we were pretty bored and out of places to visit with the theme park visit cut short, I asked my boyfriend to visit Innisfree with me. I was actually wearing their new BB cream so I wanted to pick up a full size tube. And of course while I was there, I was tempted by their products so I picked up their No Sebum primer. No-self control, whatsoever.

We walked up and down the street before we both thought it was too hot and there was nothing in particular we wanted to see. We even considered going to the noraebang to kill time but we only passed by a few in the area and they didn’t look that inviting. So we ended up seeking comfort and cool air at a coffee shop down the street. We spent like an hour there before we decided to head to the train station.

Leaving the coffee shop and heading to Namwon station.

Leaving the coffee shop and heading to Namwon station.

DSCF4623

Waiting for the train to take us home.

Waiting for the train to take us home.

We were pretty sweaty and tired from the heat.

We were pretty sweaty and tired from the heat.

Yay! Finally!

Yay! Finally!

After boarding the train, I think I fell asleep for about half an hour before waking up. The boyfriend suggested that we check out the train cafe since we had reservations for dinner. So we walked all the way to the back of the train where I was pleasantly surprised! Keep in mind, it was my first time taking the train so the entire experience was pretty new to me.

Waiting for our dinner to be prepared.

Waiting for our dinner to be prepared.

Doshirak

Dinner on the train

Train Cafe

Funny story! The girl behind us was there when we returned from the train cafe and at first I had wondered why she was standing behind us since we were in the last seats and there were no seats behind us. It turned out she was there charging her phone and when we decided to take some pictures of ourselves, she came out in our photos and she must have seen herself because she excused herself and told us she was going to leave her cell phone there to charge. lol

Funny story! The girl behind us was there when we returned from the train cafe and at first I had wondered why she was standing behind us since we were in the last seats and there were no seats behind us. It turned out she was there charging her phone and when we decided to take some pictures of ourselves, she came out in our photos and she must have seen herself because she excused herself and told us she was going to leave her cell phone there to charge. lol

Returning home

We had a good laugh about it.

We had a good laugh about it.

And…that concludes our first train trip together. Honestly, I was quite disappointed in the theme park and while the rest of Namwon was okay, I don’t think I’ll recommend it to any of my friends. If there are any foreigners residing in Korea, I should mention that you can rent a bike for free at Namwon station and there’s probably tons more to check out since we were pretty limited to just one area. We tried to stay close to the station so there were some sights we couldn’t check out. This has been one long post and I’m pretty tired. Hope you enjoyed it!

2 responses to “Namwon in a day

  1. Awwww such a cute post.. hahaha I love reading it ^^
    Nice food exploring moment with beloved korean gentleman. haha
    Ohhho shall “peek” your other entries since I wanna read more bout make up thingee but the thing is I love reading bout food more. kekekekeke

    oh.. I wanna ask.. cuz I went to Seoul two times already and I witness something that maybe I was the one who will say this but Korean man is a total gentleman don’t you think? Well at least compare to the one in my country. LOL

    • That’s a really good question lol I’ve had mostly positive experiences here…I think the women are a bit tougher in public. lol I also got lucky because I met, dated and married a total gentleman but I’m going to have to say, they aren’t all like that. May I ask what country you come from?

Leave a Reply

